Found April 01, 2013 on College Football Section:
The University of Northern Iowa Physics Department announced today the creation of a NCAA Football Championship Series team (FCS) independent of the UNI Panthers. Displaying outstanding innovation and entrepreneurship the UNI physics department is breaking off its ties to the university athletic department and creating its own independent football squad named the Symmetry Breakers to raise awareness and capitol for the Physics Department. The team will begin FCS play in 2014 and will play exclusively away games against NCAA Bowl Championship Series teams (BCS). The Breakers are expected to earn $500,000 per game to travel for traveling to and playing FBS programs. The program hopes to join the Missouri Valley Conference which recently lost Creighton to the Big East. The Symmetry Breakers will be under the control of current Department Head and future Director of Football Operations Cliff Chancey. “The UNI Physics football team will largely be made up of UNI physics majors, but students majoring in other programs will be able to play for UNI Physics in exchange for extra credit in their physics classes.” The Symmetry Breakers will open the 2014 seas traveling to the University of Arkansas who finished 4-8 in 2012, two wins shy of bowl eligibility. The Official Announcement H/T Physics Department, University of Northern Iowa Related Posts Northern Illinois is giving away student tickets to Orange Bowl Four-team playoff approved Why a 4-Team Plus Playoff Makes Perfect Sense.
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.