An official at the Hyundai Sun Bowl made a horrible call during the first quarter of the Hyundai Sun Bowl on New Year's Eve when a field goal attempt by USC Trojans kicker Andre Heidari was initially called good even though it was shanked wide left.
The official underneath the left goalpost was in the best position to make the call as to whether the USC field goal attempt was good or no good. However, as we watch the video below closely, it would appear that the official was looking straight ahead the entire time that the ball was in the air, and didn't look up to make sure the ball went inside the goalpost. That would be our best explanation as to why this official made such an inexcusably bad call by calling the field goal good.
Fortunately, instant replay was used to correct the official's mistake, and the call was properly reversed so that the final ruling was that the field goal was no good. In the end, however, the missed field goal was insignificant in the final outcome as Georgia Tech defeated USC 21-7.
H/T Bob's Blitz.
Visit us at holdoutsports.com and follow us on Twitter @HoldoutSports.