Found May 16, 2012 on Next Impulse Sports:
Churchill High School senior golfer Laura Inglis not only had the the 5A Oregon state golf championship won with her tournament leading final round, but was about to become the first golfer in Oregon history to win that state title four years in a row. Instead she accidentally signed a scorecard showing her winning score of 69 as a 68 on the scorecard and, in line with USGA rules, she was disqualified. Inglis’ signed card showed that she made a par on the 18th hole, when she actually made a bogey, her lone bogey of the round. She was in the scoring area when someone mentioned that her score had been posted as a 68. Inglis made a beeline inside, got her scorecard and reported the mistake. OSAA officials, following the USGA rules the tournament was played under, disqualified her. Inglis’ card was kept by her playing partner who missed her lone bogey of the day when making notation. Despite not having kept her own card by USGA rules any golfer is responsible for checking th...
1 Comment:
  • Such a basic rule in tournament golf. Her own fault for not checking her card before signing. Bet she won't do it again.
THE BACKYARD
BEST OF MAXIM
AROUND THE WEB
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.