Jack Nicklaus thinks Tiger Woods got the proper ruling at the Masters.
However, he's not so sure he agrees with the slow-play penalty given to 14-year-old Chinese phenomenon Guan Tianlang.
Woods' third shot on the par-5 15th in the second round hit the flagstick and ricocheted back into the water. He took his drop from 2 yards farther back - contrary to the rules - from the spot where he hit originally, and ended up making a 6. Tournament officials later said he deserved a two-stroke penalty for the violation, but not disqualification.
''Could they have disqualified him? Probably,'' Nicklaus said Wednesday at a luncheon celebrating his support and that of his Memorial Tournament for Nationwide Children's Hospital. ''But you've got all the best rules heads together and they said that they thought there was no intent to do anything (improper) and that two strokes was a strong enough penalty. And you move on.''
Nicklaus, a winner of 1...