Found April 13, 2013 on Larry Brown Sports:
Tiger Woods admitted after shooting a 70 in the third round of the Masters Saturday that the controversy over his improper drop distracted him, but he did not consider disqualifying himself. Woods spoke with CBS’ Bill Macatee following his third round and said it wasn’t until Saturday morning that he learned there might be an issue with the drop he took on the 15th hole Friday. Macatee asked if Tiger thought about disqualifying himself for signing an incorrect scorecard, but he said he did not. “No, because under the rules of golf I’m abiding by the rules,” Woods answered. “They made the determination that nothing had happened yesterday. After what I had said, things changed and they called me in this morning and I got a two-shot penalty.” Macatee asked Woods if he felt the two-shot penalty was fair, and he said yes. “Absolutely. I made a mistake. Under the rules of golf, I took an improper drop and got the penalty.” Woods also admitted that the controversy distracted him. “Well,...
THE BACKYARD
BEST OF MAXIM
RELATED ARTICLES

Joe Montana rips golf officials over Tiger Woods drop controversy

One of the greatest football players ever, Joe Montana, vented his frustration over the decision that was made by the Augusta National rules committee one day after Tiger Woods took an illegal drop on 15 at the Masters, after his approach shot hit the pin and rolled into the water. Woods was penalized two-strokes and began the third-round -1. Montana’s problem was that the penalty...

Photo: New York Post zings Tiger Woods with headline

The New York Post ran the following headline (seen above) for its coverage of the Masters on Sunday.The headline is in direct reference to Tiger Woods' controversial two-stroke penalty and his reputable promiscuous past. Naturally, the Post decided to capitalize on their chance to feature a play on words that covered both. Many fellow golfers are upset with the PGA's ruling...

Augusta National statement on Tiger Woods

Tiger Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty Saturday for his drop in the second round of the Masters, but was not disqualified. Below is the Masters' statement on the decision: ''Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole. ''In preparation for his fifth shot, the...

Woods opens with 2-under 70

If such a feat is possible, then Tiger Woods put up a quiet 2-under-par 70 in the first round of the Masters on Thursday as Australia's Marc Leishman and Sergio Garcia both fired a 66 to share the lead. Woods, heavily favored coming into the tournament, made a bogey at No. 14 and saw a short birdie putt slide by the hole on No. 15 to mar what could have been an even better start...

Tiger ends a long day four shots off lead

The 5-iron was almost as good as the wedge the day before. Tiger Woods played the 15th hole Saturday as if he wanted payback, and this time there was nothing controversial about it. The 10-foot eagle putt slid just by the left side, but birdie was almost as good. Woods was not only still playing, but back in contention for a fifth green jacket on what was easily the most unusual...

Woods hits flag, winds up in water, still in mix

Tiger Woods knew this day should've turned out so much better. He was cruising toward the end of the second round at the Masters on Friday, tied for a share of the lead and looking every bit like the guy who would be in control heading to the weekend. Then, with one tough break at the 15th hole, everything changed. Woods struck the flagstick and wound up in the water, forcing...

Tiger Woods Releases Statement Regarding Two-Stroke Penalty

Tiger Woods took to Twitter to release a statement regarding the Masters’ rules committee’s decision to give him a 2-stroke penalty for a bad drop. [via] Article found on: Next Impulse Sports

Masters: Snedeker, Day share Day 3 lead

AUGUSTA, Ga. (AP) Tiger Woods dropped two strokes at the Masters before he even hit a shot Saturday, and he still has a chance to wear another green jacket. Woods shot a 2-under 70 in the third round at Augusta National, shaking off a two-stroke penalty assessed before he went out to the first tee. When he walked off the 18th green after sinking a testy par putt, he was four strokes...

Tiger has an identity crisis

You can remember the 2013 Masters for Adam Scott's thrilling playoff victory over Angel Cabrera, the slow-play penalty leveled against a 14-year-old kid from China, or the two-stroke penalty a television viewer called on Tiger Woods for an illegal drop. The 2013 Masters was as memorable, strange, controversial and dramatic as any sporting event I can remember. It was Mike Tyson...

Masters Day 1 Recap: Garcia and Leishman on top

Day 1 at Augusta National was a day full of big names in the hunt, and a few newcomers shining at the top. Australian Marc Leishman finished the day with an early lead with a 6-under 66, and compatriot under-the-radar David Lynn put on a show with the putter to finish the day at -4. Sergio Garcia managed to not implode and finished tied for the lead at 6-under. There’s plenty of...
Golf News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.