Found October 04, 2011 on 22gigantes:

(Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

Giants third baseman Pablo Sandoval is the team’s nominee for the 2011 Hank Aaron Award, an honor awarded annually to the best overall offensive performer in both the American and National Leagues.

It was originally introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th anniversary of Hank Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record.

Fans can vote up until Oct. 9 for their favorite player and their votes will be counted alongside those of a special panel of Hall of Famers — personally selected by Aaron. Roberto Alomar, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Willie McCovey, Billy Williams and Robin Yount have all agreed to lend their expertise.

Along with Sandoval, this year’s National League choices are: Justin Upton of the D-backs, Brian McCann of the Braves, Aramis Ramirez of the Cubs, Troy Tulowitzki of the Rockies, Mike Stanton of the Marlins, Carlos Lee of the Astros, Matt Kemp of the Dodgers, Ryan Braun of the Brewers, Jose Reyes of the Mets, Ryan Howard of the Phillies, Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates, Albert Pujols of the Cardinals, Cameron Maybin of the Padres, Michael Morse of the Nationals and Joey Votto of the Reds.

Votto won the award last year for the senior circuit. Giants legend Barry Bonds has won it three times.

Past Hank Aaron Award winners:

American League Year Player Team 2010 Jose Bautista Toronto 2009 Derek Jeter New York 2008 Kevin Youkilis Boston 2007 Alex Rodriguez New York 2006 Derek Jeter New York 2005 David Ortiz Boston 2004 Manny Ramirez Boston 2003 Alex Rodriguez Texas 2002 Alex Rodriguez Texas 2001 Alex Rodriguez Texas 2000 Carlos Delgado Toronto 1999 Manny Ramirez Cleveland National League Year Player Team 2010 Joey Votto Cincinnati 2009 Albert Pujols St. Louis 2008 Aramis Ramirez Chicago 2007 Prince Fielder Milwaukee 2006 Ryan Howard Philadephia 2005 Andruw Jones Atlanta 2004 Barry Bonds San Francisco 2003 Albert Pujols St. Louis 2002 Barry Bonds San Francisco 2001 Barry Bonds San Francisco 2000 Todd Helton Colorado 1999 Sammy Sosa Chicago

Check out the American League nominees here.

MLB News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.