I’ve been seeing more and more of this:
Mauer with a sac-fly RBI to bring in Florimon.
— Minnesota Twins (@Twins) July 4, 2013
So then I asked myself…why is it no longer just a regular “sacrifice fly”? Why does it have to be qualified as a “sac-fly RBI” or the like? I decided to just look up “sacrifice fly” in the baseball glossary just to be sure I didn’t miss something…
The official scorer shall:
(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that
(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer’s judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.
Rule 10.08(d) Comment: The official scorer shall score a sacrifice fly in accordance with Rule 10.08(d)(2) even though another runner is forced out by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
So it sounds like the RBI is already implied in the term “sacrifice fly.” The fact that people on Twitter insist on calling it an “RBI sac fly” is therefore redundant. It’s kind of like saying, “That ship is traveling at 15 knots per hour” when the term “knots” already means “nautical miles per hour.” Why waste characters?