The beauty about Major League Baseball is there are no actors/actresses or scripts written for any upcoming baseball games. So when you see the likes of Milwaukee Brewers’ shortstop Jean Segura attempting to steal first base, you may wonder what in the world did he just do. How can you steal second base and then steal first base? You can’t make these things up!
“Bizarre,” veteran umpire crew chief Tom Hallion said. “Technically, he stole second, stole first, then got thrown out stealing second.” “Never saw that,” said second-base ump Phil Cuzzi.
Oh Segura blew it, it would have been something if he stole second base twice, I’m sure that has never been done before. However, Germany Schaefer did it over 100 years ago. On at least one occasion Schaefer stole first base. On August 4, 1911
I never heard of being able to advance from second to first, seems backwards to me. But according to According to rule 7.08(i): “Any runner is out when — after he has acquired legal possession of a base, he runs the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game. The umpire shall immediately call “Time” and declare the runner out.”
The only person that looked confused at that time was Segura!
A comment appended to Rule 7.08(i). It says: “If a runner touches an unoccupied base and then thinks the ball was caught or is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched, he may be put out running back to that base, but if he reaches the previously occupied base safely he cannot be put out while in contact with that base.”
The post Watch Jean Segura Steals Second Then First appeared first on Reading Between The Seams.