Found April 07, 2013 on Total Sports Blog:
Jimmie Johnson celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series STP Gas Booster 500. (Photo by John Harrelson/Getty Images) At least once a year, Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 Lowe’s Racing team find one race on the schedule that they truly dominate and on Sunday afternoon, it was the STP Gas Booster 500 from Martinsville Speedway. Johnson started on the pole and led 346 of the 500 laps to win at Martinsville for the eighth time, which is the most among active NASCAR drivers. Richard Petty (15) and Darrell Waltrip (11) have more wins. “It was just a long, hard-fought day,” Johnson said. “Martinsville is always tough. You just have to dig in and get into a rhythm and drive your own race and see what happens at the end. I feel like the fastest car won at the end.” Johnson becomes the first repeat winner this 2013 season. He won the Daytona 500 earlier this year as well. After two excited races and two driver confrontations at Bristol Motor Speedway and Auto Club Sp...

NASCAR Announces Format for “Mudsummer Classic”

On Tuesday afternoon, NASCAR announced the qualifying and race procedures for the inaugural “Mudsummer Classic” at Eldora Speedway on Wednesday, July 24th. The event is the first in NASCAR national touring series event held on dirt since Richard Petty won on September 30, 1970 at the State Fairgrounds Speedway in Raleigh, N.C. The “Mudsummer Classic” will feature a traditional...

Jimmie Johnson wins at Martinsville

Jimmie Johnson pulled away on a restart with eight laps to go and won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway on Sunday. It was his eighth career victory on the shortest track the series races. Only Richard Petty with 15, and Darrell Waltrip with 11 have won more. The five-time champion picked the inside line for the restart with Clint Bowyer on the outside...
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.