Originally written on Race Review Online  |  Last updated 10/15/14
Mr. Martinsville is back. Holding off Kyle Busch during a five-lap closing green-flag run at Martinsville Speedway, polesitter Jimmie Johnson won Sunday’s TUMS Fast Relief 500 at the .526-mile short track and grabbed the Sprint Cup Series lead from sixth-place finisher Brad Keselowski. Johnson’s fourth victory of the season and his seventh at Martinsville leaves Johnson in a familiar position. He holds a two-point lead over Keselowski with three races left in the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Busch finished second .479 seconds behind the driver of the No. 48 Chevrolet, who won for the 59th time in his career. Kasey Kahne ran third, followed by Aric Almirola and Clint Bowyer. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 21st in his return to racing after a two-week hiatus. Johnson had the lead on Lap 491 when a chain-reaction spin involving Sam Hornish Jr., Carl Edwards and Earnhardt caused the 11th caution and set up a restart on Lap 496 Denny Hamlin’s championship hopes suffered a crushing blow when his No. 11 suffered electrical problems late in the race. After intermittent losses of power, Hamlin’s car stalled on the frontstretch on Lap 391, causing the eighth caution of the race. By the time his crew identified and fixed the problem — a broken post on the master cutoff switch — Hamlin was 34 laps down and mired in 33rd place, his finishing position. Race results 1. Jimmie Johnson 2. Kyle Busch 3. Kasey Kahne 4. Aric Almirola 5. Clint Bowyer 6. Brad Keselowski 7. Jeff Gordon 8. Brian Vickers 9. Bobby Labonte 10. Greg Biffle 11. Ryan Newman 12. Paul Menard 13. Sam Hornish Jr. 14. Kurt Busch 15. Matt Kenseth 16. Joey Logano 17. Jamie McMurray 18. Carl Edwards 19. Landon Cassill 20. Juan Pablo Montoya Sprint Cup standings 1. Jimmie Johnson 2. Brad Keselowski, -2 3. Clint Bowyer, -26 4. Kasey Kahne, -29 5. Denny Hamlin, -49 6. Jeff Gordon, -54 7. Martin Truex Jr., -63 8. Matt Kenseth, -66 9. Greg Biffle, -69 10. Tony Stewart, -71 11. Kevin Harvick, -88 12. Dale Earnhardt Jr., -140 13. Kyle Busch, 1006 points 14. Carl Edwards, 937 15. Ryan Newman, 936 NASCAR Wire Service, photo courtesy of NASCARmedia.com The post Jimmie Johnson takes seventh win at Martinsville Speedway, grabs points lead appeared first on Race Review Online.

Refs reverse crucial call in Cowboys-Lions game

Report: MLB unlikely to institute pitch clock after trial

Report: Larry Fitzgerald will be asked to take pay cut

Report: Doug Marrone was unhappy with draft-day trade

Cavs GM throws his support behind David Blatt

Mike Mitchell: I'm going to hit every single guy in the knee


ESPN's Stuart Scott dies at 49

John Harbaugh: Joe Flacco is the best QB in football

Report: Mike Stoops to interview for LSU DC job

Steelers make mockery of NFL concussion protocol

Report: Giants out on Shields and Scherzer, in on Zobrist

Cardinals held to record-low 77 yards in ugly playoff loss

WATCH: Archie Goodwin posterizes Valanciunas

WATCH: Ndamukong Suh cries after loss to Cowboys

WATCH: Sergio Brown channels inner Ric Flair in locker room

WATCH: Chris Terry has horrible shootout attempt

Charlie Strong gets commitment from five Florida players

WATCH: Jim McElwain tailgated with Gators fans

WATCH: Pacman Jones wanted a piece of Geno Atkins

Cardinals official Twitter account calls out trolls

Rob Gronkowski erotica novel is available for purchase

Sports world reacts to the passing of Stuart Scott

Cardale Jones reveals uncle has two weeks to live

Cam Newton's fashion effort draws cheers and jeers

Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

WATCH: Suh cries after loss to Cowboys

Report: MLB unlikely to institute pitch clock

Cowboys benefit from bizarre call

WATCH: Sergio Brown goes Ric Flair

Marrone unhappy with draft-day trade?

WATCH: Luck's amazing TD pass

Reactions to Stuart Scott's death

Harbaugh: Flacco is best QB in football

Stuart Scott: 1965-2015

WATCH: Jones does crotch chop

Steelers mack mockery of concussion protocol

Simmons takes jab at Skip Bayless

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.