Originally written on Race Review Online  |  Last updated 10/20/14
Indianapolis, IN- Jimmie Johnson went out very early in the qualifying session for Sunday’s Brickyard 400. The four-time Brickyard champion and defending race winner went out 11th and set a new track record lap of 187.438 mph. He had to sweat out 33 drivers before Ryan Newman went out as the final qualifier. After he dodged all of the bullets many thought he’d won the pole at Indy for the second time since 2008 and the first repeat pole winner in the last 15 years. That changed in dramatic fashion. South Bend, Indiana’s own Newman broke Johnson’s track record with a speed of 187.531 mph in the No. 39 Quicken Loans/Smurfs Chevrolet. It was Newman’s 50th career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pole and first and the storied Indianapolis Motor Speedway as he becomes the 16th straight different pole sitter for the 400 and 18th different pole winner in the 20 race history. Newman joins Richard Petty, David Pearson, Jeff Gordon, Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Bobby Allison, Mark Martin and Bill Elliott on the exclusive NASCAR Sprint Cup 50 poles list. With the announcement that Newman would be let go from Stewart-Hass Racing a few weeks ago, this is a pretty good job interview to hang your hat on. Earning the Brickyard 400 pole is a huge achievement. Row 2 in tomorrow’s race will look very familiar to last year’s front row. The only difference is they will line-up in the opposite way as Denny Hamlin and Carl Edwards started 1-2 last year and it will be Edwards, Hamlin 3-4 respectively this year. Fan favorite Tony Stewart will share Row 3 with Kurt Busch as both were also over last year’s track record lap set by Casey Mears. Kasey Kahne, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jeff Gordon and Marcos Ambrose will round out the top 10 in Sunday’s race and it make it very tough to get through them as all 10 are very fast and very strong. Brickyard 400 Starting Line-Up 1. 39 Ryan Newman 2. 48 Jimmie Johnson 3. 99 Carl Edwards 4. 11 Denny Hamlin 5. 14 Tony Stewart 6. 78 Kurt Busch 7.   5 Kasey Kahne 8. 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 9. 24 Jeff Gordon 10.  9 Marcos Ambrose 11. 22 Joey Logano 12.   2 Brad Keselowski 13. 20 Matt Kenseth 14. 51 A.J. Allmendinger 15. 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 16. 31 Jeff Burton 17. 15 Clint Bowyer 18.   1 Jamie McMurray 19. 18 Kyle Busch 20. 33 Austin Dillon 21. 43 Aric Almirola 22. 93 Travis Kvapil 23. 27 Paul Menard 24. 29 Kevin Harvick 25. 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 26. 55 Mark Martin 27. 16 Greg Biffle 28. 21 Trevor Bayne 29. 40 Landon Cassill 30. 13 Casey Mears 31. 83 David Reutimann 32. 35 Josh Wise 33. 10 Danica Patrick 34. 47 Bobby Labonte 35. 98 Michael McDowell 36. 34 David Ragan 37. 30 David Stremme 38. 56 Martin Truex Jr. 39. 36 J.J. Yeley 40. 87 Joe Nemechek 41.   7 Dave Blaney 42. 38 David Gilliland 43. 32 Timmy Hill   Eric Smith is the lead Motorsports Writer for Race Review Online. Follow him on Twitter @ericsportsguru The post NASCAR: Ryan Newman wins Brickyard 400 pole in dramatic fashion appeared first on Race Review Online.
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

MLS 2015 season preview

Report: Broncos will franchise tag Demaryius Thomas

Marshawn Lynch on final SB play: 'I was expecting the ball'

Report: Rangers acquire Keith Yandle from Coyotes

Report: Bucs to keep Vincent Jackson under current contract


Twins to limit players' smartphone use on game days

Shane Battier: Carmelo Anthony is not that tough to guard

Ronda Rousey would be 'happy' to fight Cat Zingano again

Markieff Morris calls out Suns fans after loss

Cowboys to let DeMarco Murray test free agency?

Brock Lesnar attends UFC 184, keeps MMA rumors alive

WATCH: Sidney Crosby gets leveled in open-ice hit

PHOTO: Pacquiao has message for Mayweather with t-shirt?

Nuggets break team huddle with countdown to end of season

WATCH: James Harden kicks LeBron in the groin

Jim Harbaugh tells Madonna he respects her toughness

Are the Oakland Raiders finally trending up?

Durant blasts Instagram hater for Westbrook comment

Three potential big signings the Steelers could make

Kevin Garnett buys 1,000 tickets for Timberwolves fans

Michigan fan has incredible Charles Woodson tattoo

WATCH: NIU C brings down basket on dunk

McCown plans to embrace mentoring role with Manziel

Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

MLS 2015 season preview

Report: Broncos to franchise Demaryius

James Harden kicks LeBron in groin

Lynch: 'I was expecting the ball'

Report: Rangers get Yandle from Coyotes

Harbaugh respects Madonna's grit

Twins to limit game day cell phone use

Kevin Durant blasts hater on Instagram

KG buys 1,000 tickets for T-Wolves fans

Markieff Morris calls out Suns fans

Cowboys letting Murray test market?

Brock Lesnar attends UFC 184

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.