Found July 15, 2012 on Race Review Online:

IMG 0297Timothy Peters took home his first victory of the season in the American Ethanol 200 Camping World Truck series race at Iowa Speedway on Saturday night. With his fourth career win, Peters extends his points lead over Justin Lofton to 12 points.

The Red Horse Racing driver passed truck veteran and restart expert Ron Hornaday on the final restart to become the third pole-sitter to win a CWTS race in four events in Iowa.

Peters achieved his win in dramatic fashion after a late-race caution with less than 20 laps to go set up the final restart between Peters and Hornaday. When Hornaday spun his tires slightly on the restart, Peters took over the lead and pulled away for his fourth career win.

''I know Ron is considered the restart king,'' Peters said. ''We just launched really well and got a really good restart and beat him to the corner. He couldn't get by. I was sitting there praying that the caution wouldn't come out."

Hornaday settled for second, followed by Matt Crafton, the winner in Iowa in 2011. Johnny Sauter was fourth and Lofton was fifth. James Buescher, who led for 91 of the 200 laps, blew his right front tire two-thirds of the way through the race and finished in 30th position.

Jason Leffler finished in 6th position, followed by Ty Dillon and Joey Coulter. Nelson Piquet Jr. and Parker Kligerman rounded out the Top-10.

Dillon, a series rookie, remains the only driver to score a top 10 in each of the nine races so far in 2012. The two drivers above him in the standings, Peters and Lofton, each have eight top-10's. With six top-10's, Nelson Piquet Jr. is the only other driver with more than five.

After running well, James Buescher ran into bad luck and finished 30th after blowing his right front tire and careening into the Turn 2 wall on Lap 135. Buescher and Peters had been sharing the lead up until that point. Buescher was hoping for his third victory of the year and remains the only truck series regular with multiple victories. Sprint Cup regular Kevin Harvick also has two victories but has made just two series starts in 2012.

Points Standings

1) Timothy Peters
2) Justin Lofton (-12)
3) Ty Dillon R (-14)
4) James Buescher (-40)
5) Parker Kligerman (-47)
6) Matt Crafton (-48)
7) Ron Hornaday (-57)
8) Joey Coulter (-61)
9) Nelson Piquet Jr. (-69)
10) Miguel Paludo (-91)


Timothy Peters tames Iowa, pads trucks points lead

NEWTON, Iowa — Timothy Peters considered it a milestone victory. It certainly was memorable. Peters took the lead off a restart with 10 laps remaining to dash to victory in the NASCAR Camping World Trucks Series American Ethanol 200 Saturday night at Iowa Speedway. The win was the first of the season, allowing him to increase his season points lead to 12 over Justin Lofton. ...

Timothy Peters wins NASCAR trucks race in Iowa

Timothy Peters won the NASCAR trucks series race at Iowa Speedway on Saturday night, notching his first victory of the season. It's the fourth career win for Peters, who overtook Ron Hornaday Jr. with 10 laps left to become the third pole-sitter to win a trucks race in four events in Iowa. Peters gave his lead up to Hornaday on a restart with just over 30 laps left. But the...

TRUCKS: Peters Scores Iowa Victory

Timothy Peters won the fourth Truck Series race of his career.
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.