Originally written on Race Review Online  |  Last updated 9/1/14
Photo credit: Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images for NASCAR Homestead-Miami Speedway has hosted the final race of the Sprint Cup season since all the way back in 2002, crowning every champion in the nine-season history of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. As part of Ford Championship Weekend, the track will do so once again on Sunday, when either Brad Keselowski or Jimmie Johnson hoists the championship trophy after the Ford 400. If either driver wins the race, it will mark their team’s first Cup victory at this track. Only four organizations—Joe Gibbs Racing, Evernham Motorsports, Roush Fenway Racing, and Stewart-Haas Racing—have ever taken Cup wins at Homestead, with Roush holding a 7-4 edge on Gibbs and the other two teams scoring one win apiece. Keselowski won last year’s Nationwide finale for Penske Racing, but Hendrick Motorsports hasn’t won a race at Homestead since Jeff Gordon took the 2000 Busch Series event in a car he co-owned. Photo credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR With that being said, look to Roush and Gibbs drivers to win on Sunday. Joey Logano scored the pole in his final race for Gibbs, while teammate Kyle Busch starts eighth. Four Roush, Edwards qualified fourth, Matt Kenseth (in his final race before replacing Logano at Gibbs) slotted in 11th, and three-time Homestead winner Greg Biffle will line up 13th. Even Denny Hamlin has a chance; though he qualified 41st, he won from 38th place in 2009. That puts Johnson in a difficult spot, given his 20-point deficit to Keselowski coming into Sunday’s event. No matter what he does, even if he wins the race, Keselowski will clinch the championship by simply finishing 15th or better, even without leading a lap. Keselowski even holds the advantage in starting spots, qualifying third to Johnson’s 10th. Johnson’s best finish at Homestead is second, which occurred in both 2004 and 2010; however, he’s led a lap in eight of 11 career Homestead starts. After all, a champion winning the season finale has been the exception rather than the rule at Homestead, with Tony Stewart last year the only driver to do it. In 2005, Greg Biffle won the race and finished second in points to Stewart by 35, while Carl Edwards won the 2008 race, only to fall to Johnson by 69 points in the championship. With that being said, Johnson may win Sunday’s battle, but Keselowski is justiofiably confident that he’s going to win the war. —Chris Leone The post Sprint Cup Race Preview: Homestead-Miami Speedway appeared first on Race Review Online.
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Knicks reportedly ‘in play’ for Kevin Durant

Fire alarm at Patriots’ hotel goes off for second time in three days

Former NFL QB Jeff Blake: Everyone deflates footballs

Columnist: Media should boycott Skittles to protest Lynch

WATCH: Irving scores career-high 55, hits game winner


FCS star QB considering transferring to Oregon

Gronk on interest in his partying: 'I'm a baller'

Jim Harbaugh looking to flip No. 1 quarterback recruit

Colts' suspension of Richardson voids $3.1 million

Five players replacing the biggest names in Pac-12 for 2015

Report: Broncos hire Phillips as defensive coordinator

Where did Seahawks, Patriots find their Super Bowl players?

The all-time best Super Bowl team

Jimbo Fisher's extension could be worth $44 million

Morris twins investigated for possible assault

Padres are bringing back the brown pinstripes

Phil Jackson's old Knicks teams used to deflate balls

David Blatt: There should be more LeBron MVP talk

Richard Sherman, girlfriend expecting son during SB week

WATCH: Marshawn, Gronk play Mortal Kombat with Conan

Armstrong: I’d use PEDs again under same circumstances

Top five free agent quarterbacks

Report: NFL investigators to consult physicist on Deflategate

Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Knicks ‘in play’ for Kevin Durant?

Ex-QB: Everyone deflates footballs

Where did 'Hawks, Pats find players?

Columnist: Start Skittles media boycott

The all-time best Super Bowl team

Blatt wants more LeBron MVP talk

Best Super Bowl ads of all-time

5 X-factors for Super Bowl XLIX

Ten worst teams to ever play in a SB

Six MLB teams going all-in on 2015

Patriots' keys to Super Bowl victory

Seahawks' keys to Super Bowl victory

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.