Found May 08, 2013 on Fox Sports Florida:
MIAMI Erik Spoelstra was in a good mood Wednesday morning when voting results were announced for NBA Coach of the Year.Thats because he didnt win.I congratulate George Karl. I know he didnt want it either, said Spoelstra, the Miami Heat coach who finished second behind Karl, who won the award for the Denver Nuggets.There has been a jinx associated with the award considering a number of coaches have been fired or ended up resigning not long after winning it. Between 2005-09, four straight coaches handed the trophyDallas Avery Johnson, Torontos Sam Mitchell, New Orleans Byron Scott and Clevelands Mike Brownwere gone within two years.I think (coaches are) probably aware of the stigma and the jinx, Spoelstra said. Im not very superstitious but all coaches, I think you guys understand that award. Its not quite as definitive as the (Sports Illustrated cover) jinx but its pretty close.Actually, though, the previous three coaches to have won the award dont appear to be going anywhere anytime soon. Oklahoma Citys Scott Brooks won in 2009-10, Chicagos Tom Thibodeau in 2010-11 and San Antonios Gregg Popovich last season.In winning his first award for Coach of the Year in his 25 seasons on the bench, Karl, who steered the Nuggets to a 57-25 record, received 62 of 121 possible first-place votes from a national media panel and 404 total points. Spoelstra, who led the Heat to an NBA-best 66-16 mark, got 24 first-place votes and 190 points.Spoelstras runner-up finish came a year after he didnt receive a single vote in balloting after the 2011-12 season. Spoelstra, whose Heat went 46-20 during the lockout-shortened season, was then the only coach in either conference with a top-six playoff seed to not get even a third-place vote.I dont know if that shows anything, said Spoelstra, who steered the Heat to the 2012 title, said when asked what a difference a year has made. I dont give it much thought.New Yorks Mike Woodson finished third behind Karl and Spoelstra with six first-place votes and 127 points. Popovich was fourth with 11 first-place votes and 120 points.Jinx or not, the immediate bad news for Karl is he's the only one of the top eight coaches in the voting whose team already has been eliminated from the playoffs. Denver might have lost 4-2 to Golden State in the first round, but Spoelstra commended Karl on the Nuggets regular season.They had a phenomenal year, Spoelstra said. I enjoyed watching their games. Late at night, often times Id thrown on a Denver game.Spoelstra appeared thankful the Nuggets won enough games for him to not get the award.Im probably more pleased this morning than George Karl, Spoelstra quipped.Chris Tomasson can be reached at or on Twitter @christomasson

George Karl emotional while accepting award

On Wednesday, Denver Nuggets’ Coach George Karl was named Coach of the Year – a regular season award awarding the best NBA coach of said season – and the video below shows the tenured coach getting very emotional in his speech. Just a few years ago, Karl was fighting for his life, and I can [...]The post George Karl’s Emotional Video Upon Accepting CoY (Video) appeared first...

Karl named Coach of the Year

George Karl is the NBA's Coach of the Year after leading the Denver Nuggets to a team-record 57 wins this season. Karl got 62 first-place votes from a panel of sports writers and broadcasters. Golden State eliminated the Nuggets 92-88 in Game 6 last Thursday night. It's the first time Karl has won the award in 25 seasons. He joins Doug Moe as the only Denver coaches to...

Phil Jackson’s Twitter tries to mention George Karl in tweet, uses random guy by mistake

Apparently, Phil Jackson or whoever is dealing with Phil Jackson’s Twitter account is still learning how to use the social networking site. About twenty minutes ago, Phil tried to send well-wishes to Denver Nuggets head coach George Karl for winning the NBA Coach of the Year award. However by mistake, he accidentally send the tweet to another individual by the name of George Karl...

George Karl voted 2013 NBA Coach of the Year

The NBA has announced that George Karl, coach of the Denver Nuggets, will be named the NBA’s Coach of the Year. Miami’s Erik Spoelstra finished second, followed by New York’s Mike Woodson, San Antonio’s Gregg Popovich, and Indiana’s Frank Vogel. The Nuggets set a franchise record for wins in the regular season, finishing 57-25 under Karl’s watch, before bowing out to...

George Karl Named 2013 NBA Coach Of The Year

George Karl has been named the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2012-13 NBA Coach of the Year. Karl, who guided the Nuggets to the No. 3 seed in the Western Conference, joins Doug Moe as the only coaches in franchise history to win the award. It also is the first time Karl has received the honor in his 25 NBA seasons. Karl totaled 404 points, including 62 first-place votes...

George Karl wins Coach of the Year

Less than a week after being knocked out of the playoffs by the Golden State Warriors, Denver Nuggets head coach George Karl has been named the NBA Coach of the Year. Karl led the Nuggets to their best season record in franchise history at 57-25, including an astounding 38-3 at home. Karl received 62 first place votes and 404 total points to beat out Miami Heat coach Erik Spoelstra...

Nuggets George Karl Named NBA Coach of the Year

These are regular season awards that they should probably announce before the 1st round of the playoffs are over, for obvious reasons. NBA announces George Karl won coach of the year, a choice that would have looked a lot better a few weeks ago. — Henry Abbott (@TrueHoop) May 8, 2013

George Karl Named NBA Coach of the Year

George Karl was named the winner of the Red Auerbach NBA Coach of the Year award. This season Karl guided the Denver Nuggets to a 57-25 (.695) record which was fourth-best in the [...]

George Karl, the Denver Nuggets head coach, inexplicably wins the NBA coach of the year award.

George Karl is at home watching Mark Jackson and Mike Woodson.

Phil Jackson Is Still Using Twitter With His Training Wheels On

Phil Jackson is still getting used to being a Twitter master, and today he made a minor mistake even though it was cute.  Phil took some time to congratulate George Karl on winning the Coach of the Year (2012-2013), however it was the wrong account.  The sentiment was there, though.  Pau Gasol followed the Zen master in making the same mistake, because Pau is loyal. #bbpBox_332272272490508288...

Nuggets rack up another management award

Denver Nuggets general manager Masai Ujiri will win the NBA's Executive of the Year, making a coaching and general manager sweep for the organization after George Karl took home the Coach of the Year Award earlier this week. For the Nuggets, it is a just regular season award for finishing third in the Western Conference and for being perhaps the best team in the league this...
NBA News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.