Bengals head coach Marvin Lewis still believes tight end Jermaine Gresham scored a touchdown in the fourth quarter of Sunday’s 31-24 loss at Baltimore but not because he thought Gresham didn’t violate the so-called “Calvin Johnson” rule.
Lewis said Monday that he is of the belief that Gresham made a second move that is required to complete a catch and that there was no indisputable replay evidence to overturn the original call on the field of a touchdown. If the call had been upheld the Bengals would have pulled to within three points, 31-28, with 5:35 remaining. Instead they had to settle for a 27-yard field goal by Mike Nugent.
They were forced to go for a touchdown on their final drive, which got as close as the Ravens’ 7-yard line before being halted. A Gresham touchdown would have allowed for the option of a field goal to send the game into overtime.
“I think Jermaine performed a second act in reaching the ball. He got two feet clearly down, and performed a second act of reachi...