You can run, but you can't hide. Mistakes will always catch up with you, especially in a digital world with instant replay, so it is better to own up to them.
In the Week 9 Carolina-Washington game, there was an instance where the officiating crew was made to look foolish.
With 34 seconds remaining in the first quarter, Panthers running back DeAngelo Williams took the handoff, ran to the right, and took it all the way down the field for a touchdown. However, an erroneous whistle blew as Williams was near the sideline on the 17-yard line, but that whistle was not acknowledged.
Did it come from the stands? Did it come from the field?
There's no question, it came from the field. The referee in the game, Carl Cheffers, acknowledged as such.
"Yes. The line judge blew his whistle," Cheffers told pool reporter Mike Jones of the Washington Post after the game. "We had a lot of discussion about it. We just felt when the whistle blew, that the player would have already scored a touchdown...