The NHL wasted no time in rescinding the match penalty handed out to Sharks forward Andrew Desjardins for his crushing open-ice hit on Jamal Mayers of the Blackhawks on Tuesday.
As the rulebook states:
“The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a match penalty if, in his judgment, the player attempted to or deliberately injured his opponent with an illegal check to the head. If deemed appropriate, supplementary discipline can be applied by the Commissioner at his discretion.”
The officials applied the rule, believing Mayers to have been hit in the head by Desjardins, when video evidence clearly indicated otherwise:
So, there you have it. No blow to the head. NHL supervisor of officials Mick McGeough responded accordingly:
“The way the linesman saw it on the ice, he was convinced it was a major penalty. Unfortunately, he was wrong. It’s been overruled, taken care of by the League and Brendan Shanahan and the safety committee, and there are no more issues right now. (Linesman) Jonn...