from Kerry Fraser of TSN, I did not like this illegal hit or the penalty assessment one bit. Even if there had been the absence of an injury to the chin of Alex Pietrangelo, based on the degree of violence of the impact with the boards a major penalty was warranted under rule 41.3—boarding and needed to be identified as such. If this type of “check” from behind and resulting impact with the boards is only worthy of a minor penalty I am fearful for what it will take for a major infraction to be identified by the referees….
Once Alex Pietrangelo was at his bench it became obvious that an injury did result from the boarding infraction as was observed by the back referee Stephen Walkom. It is most confusing to me why the initial boarding minor was not then changed to a major and game misconduct penalty as a result of the injury.
read on and you can review the hit below…
Continue reading "Kerry Fraser On The Alex Pietrangelo Hit"