Found May 28, 2013 on Next Impulse Sports:
MICHEL SPINGLER/AP Sergiy Stakhovsky of Ukraine may as well be sponsored by Apple for his stunt on Monday. The tennis pro put down his racket and snapped a photo of a ball mark which was disputed in what he felt was a wrong call by the line judge. Stakhovsky proceeded to Tweet out the image which made its way around the Internet quickly. #bbpBox_339047050463281157 a { text-decoration:none; color:#0084B4; }#bbpBox_339047050463281157 a:hover { text-decoration:underline; }Well..here what you asked for ... http://t.co/I5H6WB3tHxabout 22 hours ago via Twitter for iPhoneReplyRetweetFavorite@Stako_tennisSergiy Stakhovsky Unfortunately the stunt didn’t help as Sergiy went down [6-1, 6-4, 6-3] to seventh-seeded Richard Gasquet of France. [It's Always Sunny In Detroit] Article found on: Next Impulse Sports
THE BACKYARD
BEST OF MAXIM
RELATED ARTICLES
SACRE BLEU

Player tweets pic of blown French Open call

The French Open saw complaints concerning officials reach a new low Monday.  101st-ranked Sergiy Stakhovsky had a gripe during his first-round loss to Richard Gasquet of France on a call against him.  The ball was ruled out, but Stakhovsky was sure it was in. Stakhovsky appealed to the chair umpire and when that failed, he stopped the match momentarily to grab his iPhone out...

Stakhovsky takes photo of ball mark

Picture this: Angered by a line call, a tennis player pulls out his phone and uses it to snap a photo of the mark left in the clay by the ball. Maybe the sort of thing that would happen at a public court, if two pals got into a tiff during a match and one wanted evidence for later - except in this case, it was a professional who did it at the French Open. Sergiy Stakhovsky of Ukraine...

Sergiy Stakhovsky takes picture of disputed call during match, tweets it out

Sports will never be the same. If you thought K-Zones and instant replay put a lot of pressure on officials, try sitting there while a tennis player whips out his iPhone and snaps a photo of a controversial call in the middle of a tennis match. Sergiy Stakhovsky did exactly that during his French Open loss [...]

Tennis player uses iPhone to argue call

Extra cool points for Sergiy Stakhovsky, the Ukrainian tennis player who on Monday found an inventive and high-tech new way to argue a call -- he pulled out his iPhone to snap a pic of a disputed ball mark in his first-round match against Richard Gasquet: He later displayed the evidence on his Twitter feed, though we're not sure this is going to do him any good: Well..here...

Sergiy Stakhovsky disputes call at French Open, tweets out iPhone picture of spot

Ukrainian tennis player Sergiy Stakhovsky was facing off against No.7 ranked Richard Gasquet in the first round of the French Open this past Monday, and at one point during his straight set loss to his French opponent, disputed a call with the chair umpire over whether a ball was in or not. As it usually goes with umpire-player arguments, Stakhovsky lost the battle, but may have...

Stakhovsky fined $2,000 at French

The player who used his phone to snap a photo of a ball mark during a French Open match was fined $2,000. Sergiy Stakhovsky of Ukraine was cited for unsportsmanlike conduct for setting aside his racket and taking a picture of the spot in the red clay where a shot landed near a line in his 6-1, 6-4, 6-3 loss to seventh-seeded Richard Gasquet at Roland Garros. The penalty was listed...

Player at French Open takes photo of ball mark

Picture this: Angered by a line call, a player at the French Open pulls out his phone and uses it to snap a photo of the mark left in the red clay by the ball. That's exactly what Sergiy Stakhovsky of Ukraine did in the first set of his 6-1, 6-4, 6-3 loss to seventh-seeded Richard Gasquet of France in the first round Monday. The 101st-ranked Stakhovsky hit a cross-court shot...

Phone-Gate and Other Stories in Notes and Quotes From Day Two at the 2013 French Open

  Sergiy Stakhovsky and phone-gate Sergiy Stakhovsky upset by a line call during his his losing effort against Richard Gasquet, the Ukranian pulled out his phone to take a photo of the mark on the clay where ball landed. He argued with Chair Umpire Carlos Ramos on a ball which landed near a line in [...]

Roland Garros Day 1: Links Roundup with Monfils, Ivanovic, Stakhovsky, Kyrgios and more

Roland Garros Roundup takes you through the Slam’s hot stories of the day, both on and off the court. Gael Monfils’ surprise win at Roland Garros Shot of the day: Gael Monfils’ surprise win over world No. 6 Tomas Berdych has been the result of the tournament so far. His four-hour, 7-6(8), 6-4, 6-7(3), 6-7(4), 7-5 win had the Parisian crowd on their feet, and commentators and...
Tennis News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.