Bryson DeChambeau had a driver mishap. Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Bryson DeChambeau actually broke his driver during the first round of the PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California, on Thursday.

DeChambeau hit his tee shot on the par-4, 347-yard 7th hole. The club head was still attached after his big drive, but then it fell off afterward when he was leaning on it.

A local rule allowed him to replace the head of the driver. The manner in which he broke the club was not due to abuse, which is why he qualified for a replacement.

DeChambeau was two under through six holes prior to the driver mishap.

“That was weird,” DeChambeau was heard saying to his caddie. “Swinging too hard. Guess it’s all those swings I put in. It was bound to break.”

Breaking the club head probably won’t quiet all that PED talk Brandel Chamblee mentioned last month.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

+

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.