David Ortiz has blasted Mike Fiers for how he went about blowing the whistle on the Astros. Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports

David Ortiz does not condone how the Houston Astros cheated their way to a World Series title in 2017, but Big Papi seems equally annoyed that it was a former member of the team who blew the lid off the sign-stealing scheme.

Ortiz spoke with reporters from Boston Red Sox training camp on Thursday, and he criticized former Astros pitcher Mike Fiers for being a “snitch.” Ortiz said it doesn’t sit well with him that Fiers waited until after he collected a bonus check and won a championship ring to publicly reveal his former team was cheating.

“After you make your money, after you get your ring, you decide to talk about it?” Ortiz said. "Why didn’t you talk about it during the season when it was going on? Why didn’t you say you don’t want to be a part of it? … That’s my problem. Why didn’t anybody say anything while it was going on?”

Ortiz also called Jose Altuve arguably the best hitter in baseball, and he said he believes Carlos Correa when Correa said Altuve did not want someone banging on a trash can to tell him which pitches were coming. However, Big Papi said that does not excuse Altuve from being associated with the cheating that went on.

Fiers was not the only person who spoke with The Athletic when the original bombshell story about the Astros dropped. He was simply the only one willing to attach his name to it, which many found admirable. However, Ortiz is not the first person in the baseball community to criticize Fiers for ratting out his former teammates.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

Can you name the managers that led each of the MLB franchises to its last World Series Championship?

Six franchises (Colorado, Milwaukee, San Diego, Seattle, Tampa Bay and Texas) have never won a World Series. 

ARZ / 2001
Bob Brenly
ATL / 1995
Bobby Cox
BAL / 1983
Joe Altobelli
BOS / 2018
Alex Cora
CHC / 2016
Joe Maddon
CHW / 2005
Ozzie Guillen
CIN / 1990
Lou Piniella
CLE / 1948
Lou Boudreau
DET / 1984
Sparky Anderson
HOU / 2017
A.J. Hinch
KC / 2015
Ned Yost
LAA / 2002
Mike Scioscia
LAD / 1988
Tommy Lasorda
MIA / 2003
Jack McKeon
MIN / 1991
Tom Kelly
NYM / 1986
Davey Johnson
NYY / 2009
Joe Girardi
OAK / 1989
Tony La Russa
PHI / 2008
Charlie Manuel
PIT / 1979
Chuck Tanner
SF / 2014
Bruce Bochy
STL / 2011
Tony La Russa
TOR / 1993
Cito Gaston
WAS / 2019
Dave Martinez

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!