Mike Fiers, who played for the Astros from 2015 to 2017, is now a member for the Athletics. Andrew Dieb-USA TODAY Sports

Jessica Mendoza shared an opinion on the Houston Astros’ sign-stealing scandal that many felt was biased considering the role she has with the New York Mets. After hearing the backlash, the ESPN analyst tried to clarify her stance.

Mendoza appeared on ESPN’s "Golic and Wingo" Thursday morning, and she said she finds it “hard to swallow ” that former Astros pitcher Mike Fiers spoke to The Athletic about what was going on in Houston. That led to people ridiculing Mendoza for shaming Fiers when what the Astros were doing clearly crossed the line, and she later issued a statement on Twitter to backtrack a bit.

Mendoza is an adviser to Mets general manager Brodie Van Wagenen, and Carlos Beltran was one of the people who was heavily implicated by MLB in the Astros’ scheme. Some felt Mendoza was placing the blame on Fiers for ratting Houston out because she was trying to defend her team’s new manager, who has since stepped down. In response to that, Mendoza said she wants to “make it extra clear that my adviser role with the team does not shape my opinion in any way, shape or form on this matter.”

The Athletic had other sources and could have been working on the Astros story well before Fiers decided to attach his name to his remarks. Criticizing him instead of the Astros seems absurd.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.