Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

For the second time this season, an NBA game is subject to an official protest by one of its teams.

According to Marc Stein of the New York Times, the Dallas Mavericks have filed an official protest over the ending of Saturday’s game against the Atlanta Hawks. The Mavericks claim that the rules were misapplied, and Hawks center John Collins’ game-winning basket with 8.4 seconds left should not have stood.

Collins was originally called for goaltending when he tipped in a blocked layup to put the Hawks up by four. Game officials said there was an inadvertent whistle on the play, and as Collins was in his shooting motion when the whistle blew, the play was ruled a continuation and the basket counted.

The first protest of the season, filed by the Houston Rockets, was dismissed largely because it happened with enough time left that commissioner Adam Silver determined the Rockets had the chance to overcome the error. With this one happening inside the final 10 seconds, that reason won’t fly here, so it will be interesting to see what the NBA makes of it.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

+

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.