Watch: Did Chris Godwin get away with key offensive pass interference?
Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Chris Godwin. Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeated the Dallas Cowboys 31-29 on Thursday night in the first game of the 2021 NFL season, and of course there was a close call at the end.

The Bucs won on a 36-yard field goal with two seconds left. The kick was set up by a catch from Chris Godwin, who may have gotten away with an offensive pass interference.

Here is the play:

And here is the Godwin push:

That clip didn’t show the contact between the players that preceded Godwin’s push. It’s possible he was responding to Jourdan Lewis. But that was a key play and it went Tampa Bay’s way.

Godwin was also able to make up for some other big mistakes he had in the game. He dropped what could have been a touchdown on a third down play two possessions prior to that. He also lost a fumble at the goal line on the possession right before.

Veteran NFL referee Terry McAulay thought Godwin committed offensive pass interference. Mike Pereira said he thought it could have gone either way.

Do you think the Bucs got away with one?

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.

More must-reads:

Customize Your Newsletter

+

Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.