Originally posted on Race Review Online  |  Last updated 5/14/13
The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will take a week off from points racing to reward its All-Star drivers. Saturday night will be the 29th running of the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Jeff Gordon is tied with Jimmie Johnson for the most Sprint All-Star Race wins by active drivers. Each driver has three wins. Johnson won the race last year. Where: Charlotte Motor Speedway When: Saturday, May 18 at 7 p.m. ET TV: Speed TV Race Format NASCAR has made changes for the 2013 Sprint All-Star Race. In addition to the race format, the pit crew challenge has been removed from the schedule this year. Here is the 2013 Sprint All-Star Race format: Sprint Showdown Qualifying: Two laps, with the fastest lap counting, Friday, May 17 at 5 p.m. ET, TV-SPEED Sprint All-Star Race Qualifying: Three lap average, with a pit stop with a mandatory 4-tire change, Friday, May 4 at 6 p.m. ET, TV-SPEED Sprint Showdown Race: 40-lap race preceding the Sprint All-Star Race. The top two finishers will be entered into the All-Star race and will start in the back of the field. Sprint All-Star Race: Four 20-lap segments and one 10-lap segment to finish the race * The drivers will come down pit road for a mandatory four-tire pit stop following the completion of the fourth segment. The order the drivers will come down pit-road will be determined by the average finishing order of the drivers in the first four segments. Cars will be lined up for the final 10-lap segment based upon the order they leave pit road. Only green flag laps will count in the final segment. Sprint All-Star Race Drivers Drivers who have won a NASCAR Sprint Cup race in the current and preceding year, drivers who have won the Sprint All-Star Race in the past 10 years and drivers who have won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship in the past 10 years are qualifying for the Sprint All-Star Race.  18 Drivers have qualified for the Sprint All-Star Race: # 2 Brad Keselowski #5 Kasey Kahne #9 Marcos Ambrose #11 Denny Hamlin #14 Tony Stewart #15 Clint Bowyer #16 Greg Biffle #18 Kyle Busch #20 Matt Kenseth #22 Joey Logano #24 Jeff Gordon #29 Kevin Harvick #34 David Ragan #39 Ryan Newman #48 Jimmie Johnson #78 Kurt Busch #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. #99 Carl Edwards Fan Vote The fans are able to select a driver who is not already qualified for the Sprint All-Star Race. The driver must finish the Showdown Race on the lead lap and have a car that is in drivable conditions for the Sprint All-Star Race. Fans can vote for the driver they would like to see in the All-Star race on the nascar.com Fan Vote Page.   Sprint All-Star Race Prediction The Gen-6 car has improved the racing and should make the Sprint All-Star Race one of the best races to watch this season. Matt Kenseth has had speed at almost every race this year. Kenseth is my pick to visit Victory Lane Saturday night. Follow me on Twitter @MrFantantasyNASCAR The post Complete Preview of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series All-Star Race appeared first on Race Review Online.
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Report: Eagles interested in bringing back Nick Foles

Report: Manning hinted to teammates he plans to retire

Barry Sanders shares thoughts on Megatron retirement talk

Report: Marshawn Lynch told friends he is retiring

WATCH: K-State players storm student section after big win

Tony Dungy coaches his way into Canton


Top eight takeaways from NFL Honors awards

Report: Austin Rivers out 4-6 weeks with broken hand

Brett Favre Hall of Fame discussion took less than 10 seconds

WATCH: Pop wishes Kobe well in heartfelt message

Eric Berry named NFL Comeback Player of the Year

Cam Newton to be named NFL MVP

QUIZ: Name the winning starting quarterback from every Super Bowl

Marcin Gortat fires back at critic on Twitter

WATCH: Kerr told Warriors he was happy to have close game

Broncos could have tough decision with franchise tag

WATCH: Steph Curry does 'Dab' on court on eve of Super Bowl

Another star confirmed for Super Bowl 50 halftime show

WATCH: Wayne Simmonds loses his cool, earns match penalty

Winners and losers from 2016 Hall of Fame vote

Brett Favre, Tony Dungy headline Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Terrell Owens says he was not elected to Hall of Fame

Bruins prospect hit in throat with puck, taken to hospital

WATCH: Mavs rookie laughed at for trash talking Spurs bench

Norris Cole has No. 30 retired with LeBron James, New Orleans Pelicans in attendance

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Report: Marshawn Lynch plans to retire

The 14 biggest plays in Super Bowl history

Five outrageous predictions for Super Bowl 50

QUIZ: Name the winning starting quarterback from every Super Bowl

The top six matchups that could decide Super Bowl 50

Seven unheralded players set to make major impacts in SB 50

10 underrated performances in the NBA Slam Dunk Contest

X-factors in Super Bowl 50

NHL nightmare: No Canadian teams in playoff hunt

QUIZ: Name the Super Bowl halftime performers since 1991

Today's Best Stuff
For Publishers
Company Info
Follow Yardbarker