Originally written on Crystal Ball Run  |  Last updated 11/18/14
It is time once again to determine which big names in college football history are worthy of enshrinement in the newly relocated College Football Hall of Fame. The National Football Foundation released this year's ballot, which includes a total of four former Heisman Trophy winners among the 77 FBS players and five coaches. "It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.92 million people have played college football," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today’s group of 77 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names today.” So essentially, just appearing on the ballot should be enough of an honor for most. But for some it is time to get them on to the next level and enshrined. Here are a few names you may recognize up for nomination... Tommie Frazier, Nebraska QB: the 1995 Heisman Trophy runner-up is still probably running down the sidelines in the nightmares of a number of Florida Gators to this day. Ron Dayne, Wisconsin RB: College football's all-time leading rusher in FBS history and the 1999 Heisman Trophy winner. Three-time First Team All-American. Put a bruising on a number of Big Ten defenders over the years. Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame WR: The Rocket, a two-time First Team All-American who helped lead Notre Dame to a national championship in the Fiesta Bowl and two other trips to the Orange Bowl. If elected, we hope Lou Holtz gives the speech. Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma LB: Set the school record for tackles in a game with 22 and the Butkus Award winner in 1985 and 1986. Helped anchor Oklahoma to three straight Orange Bowls and a national title in 1985. Vinny Testaverde, Miami QB: Perhaps one of the greatest players to play college football, the 1986 Heisman Trophy winner who led the Hurricanes at the height of their glory days to three bowl berths and the 1987 Fiesta Bowl for the national championship (lost). Eric Dickerson, SMU RB: Two-time Southwest Conference Player of the Year and holder of 14 SMU records. Other names you may recognize: Tedy Bruschi (Arizona DE), Randall Cunningham (UNLV punter), Eric Crouch (Nebraska QB), Kirk Gibson (yes, THAT Kirk Gibson; Michigan State WR), Orlando Pace (Ohio State OT), Ken Norton Jr. (UCLA LB), Antwaan Randle El (Indiana QB), LaDainian Tomlinson (TCU RB), Danny Wuerffel (Florida QB), Steve Wisniewski (Penn State OG). Check out the full FBS ballot. In all, 92 players and 27 coaches across other divisions of college football are also on the ballot. This year's class will be announced on May 7 in New York City. The induction ceremony will take place December 10, 2013 during a special event scheduled to take place in New York. Disclaimer: The author is a member of the National Football Foundation and has a vote for the College Football Hall of Fame.   Kevin McGuire is the national college football writer for Examiner.com and host of the No 2-Minute Warning podcast. Follow him on Twitter, Google+and Facebook. Follow Crystal Ball Run on Twitter and Facebook.
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Jon Jones thinks he can beat Cain Velasquez

Larry Bird jokes about pose of Dominique Wilkins’ statue

Barry Switzer urged Cowboys to draft Murray with great quote

SF Giants file brief in support of gay marriage to Supreme Court

Jay Cutler available to teams in trade


Brian Hoyer praises Johnny Manziel for checking into rehab

Dockett: I would have signed with Cardinals for less money

Report: Darrelle Revis' decision to come down to Patriots, Jets

Maurice Jones-Drew announces his retirement from NFL

Ndamukong Suh is biggest prize, risk in free agency

Associated Press will have 'robots' writing game stories

Five areas the Eagles must address this offseason

WATCH: Craig Sager emotional in warm welcome back to TNT

Likeliest landing spots for Ndamukong Suh

Tigers pitcher Alfredo Simon drives a chrome Mercedes

WATCH: Ronda Rousey breaks guy's ribs who doubts her ability

Michelle Beadle’s campaign to be cast in ‘Sharknado 3′ pays off

Ten teams who have tightened the belt

Dodgers will have a tough time dumping Andre Ethier

Brian Cashman: Derek Jeter should be final Yankees captain

Tom Brady, Rory McIlroy to play round at Augusta National

No one knows who will win the 2014-15 NBA MVP

Giants TE on plane that slid off runway in New York

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Larry Bird trash talks Dominique Wilkins’ statue

Likeliest landing spots for Suh

Jay Cutler available to teams in trade

Ronda Rousey breaks guy's ribs

Ten teams who have tightened the belt

Mayweather waited for Pacquiao to get old, right?

Maurice Jones-Drew announces his retirement from NFL

Ndamukong Suh is biggest prize, risk in free agency

AP will have 'robots' writing game stories

Manning officially returning to Broncos

No one knows who will win the MVP

Pop rips notion of NBA Finals in July

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.