Posted March 24, 2012 on AP on Fox
Joey Logano has won the Nationwide Series race at Auto Club Speedway. Logano is the first Sprint Cup Series driver to win a Nationwide race this season. His 10th career Nationwide win Saturday also extended Joe Gibbs Racing's streak of eight consecutive Nationwide victories in Fontana. After starting from the pole, Logano reclaimed the lead after a restart with 12 laps to go. He held off a tight pack including Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who finished second, and third-place Brad Keselowski. Elliott Sadler finished ninth. He still leads Stenhouse by 18 points atop the Nationwide standings. Danica Patrick dropped out with engine trouble.

NASCAR: Joey Logano Wins Nationwide Race at Fontana

Joey Logano had a lot to celebrate at Auto Club Speedway on Saturday. The 21-year-old won first the Nationwide race pole and then took the checkered flag, leading 92 of 150 laps in the Purple Royal 300. With the win, Logano snapped one streak and extended another. “JoLo” became the first Cup Series regular to win a Nationwide Series race in 2012, breaking an unusual losing...

Joey Logano Serves Up Historical Win For Joe Gibbs Racing

photo credit:  getty images FONTANA, Calif.—- Joey Logano kept the Joe Gibbs Racing streak alive. Fighting off challenges from a succession of rivals, Logano, the Coors Light Pole Award winner, gave JGR its eighth consecutive Nationwide Series victory at Auto Club Speedway in winning the Royal Purple 300 by 1.066 seconds over runner-up Ricky Stenhouse Jr. The victory was Logano...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.