go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Is this man likely to become the next MLB commissioner?

Major League Baseball could name commissioner Bud Selig’s successor very soon. MLB chief operating officer Rob Manfred seemed to be Selig’s handpicked choice for a while, but some owners were wary of Selig having total control over the selection process. Sources say that others have now interviewed for the position — which will be open when Selig retires in January — but...
Via NESN.com
7 hours ago

Michael Sam responds to Tony Dungy's comments

Tony Dungy recently came out and said he wouldn’t draft Michael Sam, and now the St. Louis Rams LB has responded to the former NFL head coach. Sam took the high road and attempted to make a joke out of the issue, and told ESPN’s Nick Wagoner he has respect for Dungy. Sam on Dungy’s comments: “Thank God he wasn’t the St. Louis Rams coach. (laughs) I have a lot of respect...
Via The Sports Daily
4 hours ago

Adrian Peterson quietly got married

Minnesota Vikings star running back Adrian Peterson married girlfriend and former Playboy model Ashley Brown, TMZ confirmed. You can see the couple showing off their wedding rings in a photo from a Starkey Hearing Foundation fundraising event in St. Paul Sunday night. Brown, who now goes by the name Ashley Peterson, re-tweeted the picture.  
Via Speleb
3 hours ago

Ace Sanders takes leave from football amid suspension

The Jacksonville Jaguars will be without another wide receiver to start their 2014 training camp and season. Second year receiver Ace Sanders spoke on a conference call, admitted to media members that he is facing a four-game suspension, and will be taking a leave from football to seek counseling. Ryan O’ Halloran of the Florida Times-Union […]
Via Full Scale Sports
4 hours ago

Holly Holm: Gina Carano has earned shot at Ronda Rousey

Gina Carano has not fought for over five years, but she will still get a title shot at Ronda Rousey upon signing with the UFC, company boss Dana White has said. Many people feel like Carano is undeserving of a title shot because of her long layoff. Miesha Tate, who has lost to Rousey twice, […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
10 hours ago

Clippers CEO: Doc Rivers will quit if Sterling remains owner

Embattled Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling has one foot already on its way out of the organization. But it appears that head coach Doc Rivers has thought about what the future will bring for him if Sterling somehow retains his ownership stake in the Clippers. BREAKING: Interim #Clippers CEO Parsons testifies that coach Doc Rivers will quit if Donald Sterling remains owner...
Via Sportsnaut
7 hours ago

College football players want NCAA 15 back too

The news that EA Sports would not release an NCAA football video game for 2014 was not surprising – considering the ongoing Ed O’Bannon trial concerning image and likeness – but it was disappointing. And it wasn’t just college football fans that were despondent, college football players were as well. CBS Sports’s Jon Solomon reported Monday that the game’s cancellation...
Via Awful Announcing
10 hours ago

Report: Andre Johnson will show up to Texans camp on time

Houston Texans fans and fantasy football players can waive a sigh of relief: Andre Johnson is expected to report to training camp on time, according to Jerome Solomon of the Houston Chronicle. Expected to be at camp on time. RT @taniaganguli Good sign for the #Texans: WR Andre Johnson was at NRG Stadium yesterday, sources said. — Jerome Solomon (@JeromeSolomon) July 22, 2014 As...
Via Gridiron Grit
10 hours ago

Yankees acquire Chase Headley from Padres

Chase Headley finally appears to be a member of the New York Yankees. The veteran third baseman has long been connected to the Yankees, and the San Diego Padres finally traded Headley to the Yankees for a pair of players, according to multiple reports. New York reportedly will send 23-year-old right-handed pitcher Rafael De Paula and 27-year-old infielder Yangervis Solarte to...
Via NESN.com
12 hours ago

Spurrier rips Dabo Swinney over ‘different planets’ comment

Steve Spurrier and Dabo Swinney probably do not like each other. The two coaches have never openly admitted that they dislike one another, but all the signs are there. At ACC media days on Monday, Swinney joked that he and Spurrier are “from different planets” when asked about their relationship. “He’s from Pluto and I’m […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
12 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.