go to MSN.com
Originally written on The Last Angry Fan  |  Last updated 8/2/13

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night. Tonight I might have made history with a "One Pitch Strikeout". I'll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us… .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump called strike two. Repeat for strike three. — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike. Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB… Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c). Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7. [The Score] The post Minor league pitcher Nick Tropeano somehow recorded a one-pitch strikeout appeared first on Last Angry Fan.

GET THE YARDBARKER APP:
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
MORE FROM YARDBARKER

Jason Kidd to be named general manager of Bucks

USWNT romps Japan 5-2 to win third Women's World Cup title

Report: JPP 'severely injured' hand in fireworks mishap

Blatter: European politicians helped Qatar land World Cup

Report: Cavs considering trading for Joe Johnson

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
GET THE DAILY NEWSLETTER:

Andrew Quarless found hiding in plant after firing gun

Odell Beckham: I don't want to be known only for 'the catch'

Borland on retirement: Health 'more important' than money

Three NBA teams that improved most early in offseason

Adam Eaton gets 4th of July surprise from brother

Clippers in talks with JaVale McGee, Amar’e Stoudemire

MLB teams who will continue to disappoint in the second half

2015 All-Star starters announced, featuring four Royals

WATCH: Jake Marisnick makes fantastic running catch

WATCH: Carlos Gomez leaves gum, note for Billy Hamilton

Kansas to wear new USA jerseys after request from FIBA

What can the Saints expect from CJ Spiller in 2015?

Isaiah Thomas trolls Kings after Rajon Rondo signing

Kosta Koufos agrees to deal with Kings

Report: Blues in trade talks about Kevin Shattenirk

Report: Gregg Popovich plans to fulfill five-year contract

4-Star LB commits to Kentucky, zings Louisville

Clay Buchholz not worried about trade rumors

All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
the YARDBARKER app
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
RUMORS & GOSSIP

Jason Kidd to be named general manager of Bucks

Milwaukee Bucks general manager John Hammond has been one of the most integral members of the organization in its turnaround from bottom feeder to playoff team over the past couple seasons. According to Dave Begel of OnMilwaukee.com, Hammond is on the verge of being rewarded by finding himself replaced by Bucks head coach Jason Kidd, who will reportedly be named the team’s general...
Via Sportsnaut
10 hours ago

USWNT romps Japan 5-2 to win third Women's World Cup title

The United States has beaten Japan to win its third Women's World Cup title.
Via Gamedayr
10 hours ago

Report: JPP 'severely injured' hand in fireworks mishap

New York Giants defensive lineman Jason Pierre-Paul reportedly suffered a serious hand injury in a fireworks accident on Saturday night. According to Andy Slater of WINZ 940-AM in Miami, Pierre-Paul sustained a “severe injury” to his hand. While there has not been an official announcement made, speculation is building on Twitter that Pierre-Paul mangled his...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
15 hours ago

Blatter: European politicians helped Qatar land World Cup

BERLIN — FIFA president Sepp Blatter said in a Sunday newspaper interview that French and German presidents applied political pressure before the 2018 and 2022 World Cups were awarded to Russia and Qatar, respectively. Blatter told Welt am Sonntag that “there were two political interventions” from former French president Nicolas Sarkozy and German counterpart Christian Wulff...
Via NESN.com
14 hours ago

Report: Cavs considering trading for Joe Johnson

The Cleveland Cavaliers are apparently ready to cater to LeBron James in an attempt to build a better team than the one that found itself two games from winning the NBA title this past season. With James still waiting for the team to work out a new deal with Tristan Thompson and add another veteran or two before engaging in contract discussions, the Cavaliers seem to be interested...
Via Sportsnaut
15 hours ago

Andrew Quarless found hiding in plant after firing gun

Like many people, Packers tight end Andrew Quarless spent his Fourth of July weekend in south Florida. Unfortunately, his holiday included being taken into police custody. Quarless and another man were involved in an incident after approaching a car with several women inside. An argument followed with a witness hearing voices from inside the car...Read More
Via Larry Brown Sports
17 hours ago

Odell Beckham: I don't want to be known only for 'the catch'

New York Giants wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. became a household name last year after he made that spectacular one-handed touchdown catch against the Dallas Cowboys. That freakish display of athleticism by Beckham has since been referred to by many as “the catch.” However, that is not the only thing that Beckham would like to be known for in the NFL. In a recent interview...
Via Sportsnaut
17 hours ago

Borland on retirement: Health 'more important' than money

One of the more surprising moments of the NFL offseason occurred back in March when former San Francisco 49ers linebacker Chris Borland retired after just one year in the league. For Borland—a former first-team All-American at Wisconsin—the decision was about much more than money. In announcing his retirement, the linebacker had this to say: “I just honestly want to do...
Via Sportsnaut
18 hours ago

Three NBA teams that improved most early in offseason

We might be less than a week into NBA free agency, but a whole heck of a lot has happened around the Association. From LaMarcus Aldridge joining an already championship-caliber San Antonio Spurs team to the Milwaukee Bucks making their first major free agent signing in what seems like decades, some teams have improved a great deal from a season ago. Here are three of the most-improved...
Via Sportsnaut
1 day ago

Adam Eaton gets 4th of July surprise from brother

Prior to their 3-2 victory over the Baltimore Orioles Saturday, the Chicago White Sox honored members of the military by stationing them on the field with the home team. Among the uniformed that made their way to the field was Air Force captain Zachary Eaton who is, you guessed it, the older brother of White Sox center fielder. “That was a little shocking when I first came...
Via Hall of Very Good
1 day ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.