go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Player attacked with bat by Jose Offerman wins $1M in lawsuit

BRIDGEPORT, Conn. — A lawyer says a Connecticut minor league baseball player hit by former major leaguer Jose Offerman in a 2007 baseball bat attack has won nearly $1 million in a lawsuit. A jury Tuesday awarded $940,000 to Bridgeport Bluefish catcher Johnathan Nathans, who wanted $4.8 million. Nathans’ lawyer Josh Koskoff says he’s still affected by a head injury he suffered...
Via NESN.com
2 hours ago

Kevin Durant on staying with Thunder beyond 2016: 'We'll see'

Kevin Durant and LeBron James appear to be pretty good friends. That was no more evident than when James’ Heat beat Durant’s Thunder in the Finals, and they were working out together that following summer. Strange. With LeBron going back […]
Via The Kevin Burke Project
1 hour ago

Report: Fracking mogul bids over $1 billion for Buffalo Bills

A Pennsylvania fracking mogul bid more than $1 billion for the Buffalo Bills on Tuesday — making it likely the team will attract a record sales price for an NFL team.It was one of only two known bids — which were due by 5 p.m. Tuesday — for the storied NFL franchise, according to the New York Post.Terrence Pegula, who owns the NHL Buffalo Sabres, made the record-breaking...
Via The Other Paper
2 hours ago

Vin Scully to announce Dodgers games in 2015

I said it last year at this time and I’ll gladly say it again…those sounds you hear echoing through Chavez Ravine are the dulcet tones of one Vin Scully announcing he’ll be returning next season for his 66th season in the Los Angeles Dodgers broadcast booth. The team made the announcement Tuesday night during their game against the Atlanta Braves and did it in three different...
Via Hall of Very Good
10 hours ago

Marshawn Lynch's mom takes offense to ESPN article

Marshawn Lynch’s training camp holdout has been widely publicized and is starting to become widely criticized, with some even questioning the Pro Bowl running back’s worth to the Seahawks. ESPN writer Terry Blount is one of those debating whether or not Pete Carroll and John Schneider actually need Lynch for the 2014 season. Blount has poked Beast Mode, or shall we say Blount...
Via Next Impulse Sports
12 hours ago

Peterson agrees to huge extension with Cardinals

Cardinals CB Patrick Peterson announced via his Twitter account that he has signed a five-year extension worth $70 million that includes $48 million guaranteed. Happy to announce my 5 year extension with @AZCardinals! $70M and $48M Guaranteed!! #AZCardinals #P2Nation #YearOfTheCardinal — Patrick Peterson (@RealPeterson21) July 30, 2014 Rand Getlin of Yahoo Sports reported earlier...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
11 hours ago

Lester scratched from start amid trade rumors

BOSTON — Jon Lester has spent his entire nine-year career with the Red Sox. His next start could come in a different uniform. Lester, who was been the subject of trade rumors in recent days, has been scratched from his scheduled start Wednesday against the Toronto Blue Jays at Fenway Park, according to Red Sox manager John Farrell. Brandon Workman will be called up and pitch in...
Via NESN.com
11 hours ago

Urban Meyer gives LeBron sideline pass to Buckeye games

LeBron James has long had a connection to the Ohio State football program. Now that the NBA’s best player is back in his home state, playing for the Cleveland Cavaliers, that connection is magnified.  Urban Meyer often speaks highly of Ohio’s favorite athlete. The Buckeye coach has already texted James, who has a sideline pass to each Ohio State game, telling the superstar to...
Via College Spun
1 day ago

Matt Cain to visit Dr. James Andrews

San Francisco Giants ace Matt Cain is making a trip that not many athletes want to make. According to Andrew Baggarly of CSN Bay Area, Cain will visit Dr. James Andrews, to have Andrews examine his ailing elbow. Cain has been on the DL  since July 21, with inflammation in his elbow. Giants source confirms […]
Via Full Scale Sports
12 hours ago

Anderson Silva will return against Nick Diaz at UFC 183

On Tuesday, it was announced former UFC middleweight king Anderson Silva (pictured) will return to action exactly 13 months and three days after shattering his left shin against champion Chris Weidman. Silva meets Nick Diaz, who is also ending his extended hiatus, at UFC 183. The January 31 show will take place at a yet-to-be announced venue in Las Vegas. The bout will take place...
Via 5thRound.com
16 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.