go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
All Sports News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

RUMORS & GOSSIP

Tigers acquire David Price in blockbuster three-team deal

The Detroit Tigers have made the big blockbuster trade of the deadline. David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays has been sent to Detroit, in a deal that was first reported by Ken Rosenthal of FOX Sports. Source: #Tigers get Price. — Ken Rosenthal (@Ken_Rosenthal) July 31, 2014 Jon Heyman of CBS Sports reporting that […]
Via Full Scale Sports
13 hours ago

Kevin Love reportedly won't sign extension if traded

The Kevin Love situation has taken an interesting turn. Bob Finnan of the News-Herald reports that the Minnesota Timberwolves power forward has no plans to immediately re-sign with any team that he’s traded to. “In a rather new development, it now looks as if Love won’t sign an extension with any team in which he’s traded, even the Cavaliers,” Finnan writes. “He can get...
Via NESN.com
7 hours ago

49ers, Jim Harbaugh won't talk extension until after season

San Francisco 49ers CEO Jed York indicated on Yahoo! Sports Talk Live on Thursday evening that the team and head coach Jim Harbaugh have agreed to table extension negotiations until after the season.  Citing the need to focus on what’s happening on the field, York said that it made more sense to wait until after the season ends before resuming extension talks. We actually just...
Via Sportsnaut
6 hours ago

Rose says Bulls weren't happy behind his back, Bulls respond

Things could be getting tense in Chicago between Derrick Rose and the Bulls. At the very least, there is a miscommunication about the feelings in the organization as he recovered from injuries. Here is what Rose told Joe Cowley of the Chicago Sun-Times about how the organization felt and if there was tension: “I’m happy I didn’t personally see it. I don’t want to see that...
Via BlackSportsOnline
6 hours ago

Michael Phelps to compete in four events at U.S. Nationals

Michael Phelps’ comeback bid will continue next week at the U.S. national championships, and he will match his most ambitious program since returning to the sport. The 29-year-old will compete in the 100-meter freestyle, 100 butterfly, 100 backstroke and 200 individual medley at the meet, which begins Wednesday in Irvine, California. Phelps retired after the London Olympics...
Via Rumors and Rants
4 hours ago

Quebec City building NHL-sized rink without guarantee of team

The Quebec Nordiques started out as a World Hockey Association team in 1972. It remained with the WHA until being absorbed into the NHL team in 1979. The Nordiques moved to Colorado in 1995 almost 20 years ago and there was very little hope that Quebec City would get a new team. Of course, that was until 2012 when the new division realignment was announced. Currently there...
Via Sports Rumor Alert
8 hours ago

Report: Trump advances to next round of Bills' sale process

Update: John Wawrow of the Associated Press reports that billionaire Donald Trump has been selected to advanced to the next round of the bidding process for the Buffalo Bills. Morgan Stanley, the banking firm overseeing the sale of the Bills’ franchise, informed Trump of their decision. Wawrow adds that it’s unclear who else has advanced along with Trump, but Sabres owners Terry and K...
Via NFL Trade Rumors
8 hours ago

Dustin Johnson announces leave of absence from golf

Dustin Johnson announced on Thursday that he is taking a leave of absence from golf. The 30-year-old said he is seeking professional help to deal with some personal issues but did not get into specifics. “I am taking a leave of absence from professional golf, effective immediately,” Johnson said, via USA Today Sports. “I will […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
12 hours ago

Shaq facing lawsuit from man he made fun of on Instagram

Sometimes an apology just isn’t enough. That seems to be the case for Jahmel Binion who got made fun of by Shaq on social media. That problem is that after Shaq clowned him, he was told that the guy has a rare disorder hypohidrotic ectodermal dysplasia, that causes a reduced ability to sweat, sparse hair growth, missing teeth and facial deformities. Shaq then called the guy and...
Via BlackSportsOnline
14 hours ago

Kyle Korver was once traded for summer league fees, copier

TweetAtlanta Hawks sharp-shooter Kyle Korver has developed into one of the most dangerous outside shooters in the NBA, but there was a time when he wasn’t nearly as coveted as he is now. In a recent profile of Korver’s career to date, Grantland’s Zach Lowe writes that a then-2nd round pick Korver was traded by the New Jersey Nets to the Philadelphia 76ers for some uncommon...
Via Los That Sports Blog
14 hours ago
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.