go to MSN.com
Found August 02, 2013 on The Last Angry Fan:
PLAYERS: Nick Tropeano

Via The Last Angry Fan:

Yes Virginia, one-pitch strikeouts do exist. Just ask Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano, who pulled off the ultra rare feat against the Midland Rockhounds in Double-A action this past Thursday night.

How you ask? Hooks media relations coordinator Chris Blake breaks it down for us…

That must have been some argument. Maybe the batter said something derogatory about the ump’s wife or mother. Or maybe they had differing political views. Either way, the umpire was well within the rules to ring up the hitter after only one strike.

Here’s the exact rule, as per MLB…

Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).

Tropeano would strike out nine other batters in the 5-4 win over the Rockhounds at Whataburger Field to run his season record to 6-7.

[The Score]

19 Comments:
  • Play Ball!
  • Almost happened to me once... stepped out of box after strike one and questioned it a bit... umpire yelled at me to get back in the box as pitcher threw another quick pitch "strike two" ... I quickly asked for time out from umpire... pitcher quick pitched strike three... umpire called called it and THEN accepted my time out but told me to get into the box... Next pitch went sailing right OVER the big tree that was beyond the left field fence... lol I circled bases and came to home plate and the jerk umpire kept telling me to thank him!!!!! Geeesh...
  • I witnessed amazing feat. The batter got called out earlier in the game on what he considered a low strike. He mouthed off to the umpire all the way to the dugout and the game went on. I believe he went back up to bat one more time without any major issue. At this a bat, he didn't car for the first strike call, stepped out and was mouthing off again. Next thing I hear, is strike two and realized there was no pitch. I was sitting next to the Midland dugout, and the bench coach told him to cut it out, but to no avail and the third strike was called. The batter dropped the F-bomb and was immediately tossed. It was a something for the history books. There was plenty of great action in the game as well, such as the Hooks centerfielder throwing out the runner at home. Game final was 5-4 CC Hooks.
  • There is another way to record a 1-pitch strikeout.

    Pitcher has two strikes on a batter.
    Pitcher is replace by a relief pitcher.

    Relief pitcher throws the third strike and gets credit for the strikeout.
  • Incorrect. A pitcher may not be changed during an at bat. One pitcher must face one batter. pitchers can only be changed between batters.
  • NOT SO. WHAT ARE YOU ON STEROIDS. GIVE THIS GUY A URINE TEST. PLENTY OF PITCHERS HAVE COME IN WITH A COUNT ALREADY ON THE BATTER. GEEEEEESHHHHH.
  • LOL!!! If either the batter or the pitcher make it to the "SHOW" you can bet this story will be told a few times on TV too! LOL!!! Nice! Stupid batter!
  • Another way it could be done is if the batter steps on home plate whilt trying to bunt, bunts the ball and the umpire calls him out. It is considered a strike out. Can be done with one pitch.
  • It should be called more often.
  • JUST BECAUSE THEY GIVE YOU A BAT--THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH IT
  • Baseball needs to speed up. I would change the rule so that once the batter steps into the box the first time then the game is live, and the pitcher can pitch if he steps out. Moreover, I would eliminate the calling of time by a batter.
  • I THINK THE UMPIRE WAS ON STEROIDS. GIVE HIM A URINE TEST.
  • I know the umpire, good friend. I'll guaranteed it was warranted if it happened (now I'll have to give him a jingle).
    Also, it is not a strike out if he bunts with his foot on the plate. A batter is out for ILLEGAL ACTION if he hits a ball with one or both feet completely out of the batters box (OBR 6.06(a), touching the plate does not matter). The catcher is credited with a putout (10.09(b)(2)) but there is no provision for crediting a strike out (10.15).
  • Reminds me of David Cone, former Royal pitcher. He stood there at first base (covered on a grounder to first baseman) with the ball in his hand, arguing a call with the umpire while the runner circled the bases to score.
  • It was the better thrown for balls and strikes .


    Conxin
THE BACKYARD
RELATED ARTICLES

Corpus Christi Hooks’ Pitcher Nick Tropeano Records One Pitch Strikeout

Tonight I might have made history with a “One Pitch Strikeout”. I’ll take it haha!!! — Nick Tropeano (@PaPaTropeano) August 2, 2013 You see something new in baseball all the time. Tonight I saw a one-pitch strikeout. #crazy #cchooks — Chris Blake (@ChrisCBlake) August 2, 2013 .@JustinWhiteTCU Batter argued strike one call, and when he refused to get back in the box ump...

WATCH: Minor League Pitcher Records Strikeout With One Pitch

Crazy stuff goes on at baseball games all the time, but last Thursday a minor league game was the site of something extaordinary--a one pitch strike strikeout. Nick Tropeano, the pitcher for Corpus Christi, threw what ended up being a called strike to Midland's Vinnie Catricala. Vinnie argued..and argued...and argued some more. As it turns out, an umpire is allowed to assess...

Minor League Baseball Player Strikes Out on One Pitch, Records Rare Feat in Double-A Game (Video)

A minor league pitcher recorded the easiest out of his career Thursday night, striking out Vinnie Catricala of the Midland RockHounds on only one pitch. Catricala took the first pitch of his at-bat from Corpus Christi Hooks pitcher Nick Tropeano for a strike, argued for a couple moments with home plate umpire Ron Teague, and then stepped out of the batter’s box. Teague thought...
RUMORS & GOSSIP

WWE upset with Nancy Grace over Warrior death coverage

HLN Video Hey, remember when The Ultimate Warrior died and Nancy Grace brought on Diamond Dallas Page to openly suggest Warrior died from steroids, brought in totally unrelated doctor who said things like “anabolic steroids are probably used by 1% of Americans,” then put together a list of wrestlers who died young to suggest Owen Hart died from drugs? Yeah, turns out WWE wasn’t...
Via With Leather
8 hours ago  | 

Heyward-Bey buys stadium lights for high school

Darrius Heyward-Bey’s journey to the NFL began at McDonogh, a private high school in Owings Mills, Md., that’s long played its football games sans stadium lights. Until now. According to the school’s website, Heyward-Bey recently purchased lights for John McDonogh Stadium, fulfilling a promise he made to Athletic Director Mickey Deegan in 2005, his senior year at the school...
Via Helmet2Helmet
5 hours ago  | 

Report: Bucs 'prepared' to draft quarterback at No. 7

The NFL Draft season is busy for analysts and reporters. Many people have feelings on what a team will do while others claim to have sources that also feel what a team will do. Nothing is ever a “for sure” bet.  But several media members go around asking questions or are given information in which they piece together like a puzzle. NFL.com’s Ian Rapoport is one that does that...
Via The Bay Cave
7 hours ago  | 

Raptors player jabs Knicks owner for nixing Lowry trade

James Dolan may have saved the Raptors season If you told anyone at the beginning of the NBA season that the Toronto Raptors would win the Atlantic division, you would have been called nuts. Well six months later, the Raptors secured the division and have landed home court advantage for the first round of the playoffs. However, this might have never happened had New York Knicks...
Via Sports-Kings
3 hours ago  | 

Pirates acquire Ike Davis from Mets

The Pittsburgh Pirates have acquired first baseman Ike Davis from the New York Mets, according to Chris Cotillo of MLB Daily Dish.
Via Sports Rumor Alert
3 hours ago  | 

Roy Hibbert: ‘I was wrong’ to call out Pacers teammates

Indiana Pacers center Roy Hibbert says it what was wrong for him to criticize his teammates in late March. “You know, I think that I should’ve kept my frustrations to myself or just in the locker room,” Hibbert said on “ESPN First Take.” “I will admit that it wasn’t the best thing to do. I’ll learn from that, and I was wrong. There are better ways to handle that...
Via Sports-Glory
9 hours ago  | 

Steve Nash says Lakers can't rely on him next season

The 2014-15 NBA season can’t come soon enough for the Los Angeles Lakers, who just suffered their worst campaign since moving to LA. Kobe Bryant recently tweeted that “next season will be epic,” however, point guard Steve Nash shared a not-so-epic quote with ESPN’s Dave McMenamin about what can be expected of him: “They can’t rely on me, frankly,” said Nash, already...
Via Basketball Bicker
8 hours ago  | 

Colts reportedly won't allow Hakeem Nicks to wear No. 88

(Credit: BSO) Although the number 88 isn’t officially retired by the Indianapolis Colts, it appears nobody else will wear it again for the team. This includes recently signed wide receiver Hakeem Nicks, who wore 88 with the New York Giants. 88 is a sacred number in Indy, as it belonged to the franchise’s all-time leading receiver Marvin Harrison, as well as Hall of Fame tight...
Via Down and Distance
8 hours ago  | 

Thunder won’t sell playoff tickets to Tennessee residents

The Oklahoma City Thunder are doing their best to achieve a homecourt advantage during the NBA playoffs. To that end, they are limiting ticket sales during the playoffs to residents of Oklahoma and a few neighboring states. Those attempting to purchase playoff tickets for Thunder home games are met with the following note: All Sales […]
Via Larry Brown Sports
10 hours ago  | 

Celtics open to signing Paul Pierce this offseason

The Boston Celtics made an incredibly difficult decision by trading both Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce last offseason, and it tore the hearts out of most Boston fans. According to a report from Ben Rohrbach, the Celtics could very well bring back Pierce this offseason at the right price and situation. If the Celtics were able to bring Pierce back to Boston, it would certainly be...
Via Sports-Glory
14 hours ago  | 
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
Help
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.