NEW ORLEANS - MARCH 20: Coach John Calipari of the Kentucky Wildcats talks to his team during the second round of the 2010 NCAA men's basketball tournament at the New Orleans Arena on March 20, 2010 in New Orleans, Louisiana. (Photo by Dave Martin/Getty Images)
John Calipari has been called a few non-PG names during his twenty year head coaching career, with many backed up by vacated wins and titles. Once again, a move by his latest team has those wondering if the Kentucky Wildcats’ coach knowingly attempted to break the rules, succeeding in doing so, prompting the ‘cheater’ tag to once again rear its ugly head.
Near the end of the first of the Wildcats’ loss to Louisville on Saturday, Nerlens Noel is fouled by the Cardinals’ Russ Smith on a reach-in, thus sending Noel to the line, correct? This video shows otherwise.
The freshman Noel quietly takes a few steps award from the free throw line as fellow freshman Alex Poythress wanders over and drains the first of two free throws. Noel is currently shooting 52.2 percent from the line, while Poythress is shooting a shade over 64 percent, thus indicating this was not made by mistake, but rather a crafty move signalled in from the controversial head coach.
Look carefully as Poythress appears to glance at the bench following the foul then tapping Noel on the backside before the switcheroo. Coincidence?
Featured Image: Andy Lyons/Getty Images
Article found on: Cosby Sweaters