Posted April 13, 2013 on
AP on Fox
Tiger Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty Saturday for his drop in the second round of the Masters, but was not disqualified. Below is the Masters' statement on the decision:
''Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.
''In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.
''After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.
''The subsequent information provided by the player's interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player's round.''
- Fred Ridley, Chairman, Competition Committees
BEST OF MAXIM
AROUND THE WEB
One of the greatest football players ever, Joe Montana, vented his frustration over the decision that was made by the Augusta National rules committee one day after Tiger Woods took an illegal drop on 15 at the Masters, after his approach shot hit the pin and rolled into the water. Woods was penalized two-strokes and began the third-round -1. Montana’s problem was that the penalty...
For every fan that wants to see Tiger Woods break the record number of Majors that the greatest player who ever lived still holds, there are 100 that don’t. Woods is no Jack Nicklaus. He never will be will be either. Nicklaus knew how to win. He knew how to win on the worlds biggest stages too. 7 time the Golden Bear came from behind to win a major golf tournament. Woods has never...
The New York Post ran the following headline (seen above) for its coverage of the Masters on Sunday.The headline is in direct reference to Tiger Woods' controversial two-stroke penalty and his reputable promiscuous past. Naturally, the Post decided to capitalize on their chance to feature a play on words that covered both. Many fellow golfers are upset with the PGA's ruling...
If such a feat is possible, then Tiger Woods put up a quiet 2-under-par 70 in the first round of the Masters on Thursday as Australia's Marc Leishman and Sergio Garcia both fired a 66 to share the lead.
Woods, heavily favored coming into the tournament, made a bogey at No. 14 and saw a short birdie putt slide by the hole on No. 15 to mar what could have been an even better start...
The 5-iron was almost as good as the wedge the day before. Tiger Woods played the 15th hole Saturday as if he wanted payback, and this time there was nothing controversial about it.
The 10-foot eagle putt slid just by the left side, but birdie was almost as good. Woods was not only still playing, but back in contention for a fifth green jacket on what was easily the most unusual...
As the first round of the 2013 Masters is fully underway, the eyes of the golf world will firmly be on the eyes of Tiger Woods.
During the 11th hole par-4, Tiger's second shot somehow landed on the green near the hole and even caused Tiger to drop some salty language after seeing it land:
(Courtesy of Busted Coverage)
Tiger Woods knew this day should've turned out so much better.
He was cruising toward the end of the second round at the Masters on Friday, tied for a share of the lead and looking every bit like the guy who would be in control heading to the weekend.
Then, with one tough break at the 15th hole, everything changed.
Woods struck the flagstick and wound up in the water, forcing...
Tiger Woods took to Twitter to release a statement regarding the Masters’ rules committee’s decision to give him a 2-stroke penalty for a bad drop.
Article found on: Next Impulse Sports
AUGUSTA, Ga. (AP) Tiger Woods dropped two strokes at the Masters before he even hit a shot Saturday, and he still has a chance to wear another green jacket.
Woods shot a 2-under 70 in the third round at Augusta National, shaking off a two-stroke penalty assessed before he went out to the first tee. When he walked off the 18th green after sinking a testy par putt, he was four strokes...
Tiger Woods hit with a 2-stroke penalty for illegal drop on the 15th hole at the Masters, he will not be disqualified…Not sure what to say about this, The Masters Nazi’s win again.-TO
Vonn Front and Center at the Masters
Tiger Woods and Lindsey Vonn Spotting
You can remember the 2013 Masters for Adam Scott's thrilling playoff victory over Angel Cabrera, the slow-play penalty leveled against a 14-year-old kid from China, or the two-stroke penalty a television viewer called on Tiger Woods for an illegal drop.
The 2013 Masters was as memorable, strange, controversial and dramatic as any sporting event I can remember. It was Mike Tyson...
Day 1 at Augusta National was a day full of big names in the hunt, and a few newcomers shining at the top. Australian Marc Leishman finished the day with an early lead with a 6-under 66, and compatriot under-the-radar David Lynn put on a show with the putter to finish the day at -4. Sergio Garcia managed to not implode and finished tied for the lead at 6-under. There’s plenty of...