Another week, another post-round rules discussion. But unlike the BMW Championship controversy that cost Tiger Woods two strokes and generated a whole lot of aftershocks, Henrik Stenson was spared all but a bit of a scare after Friday's second round of the Tour Championship.
Not that he knowingly abided by the rules, however. Fact is, Stenson came perilously close to carrying a non-conforming golf club, a 4-wood, into competition at East Lake Golf Club. Had he done so, it would have cost him a minimum of two strokes and no more than four; had he used the club, it would have meant disqualification.
And considering Stenson shot 4-under 66 to get halfway home at 10-under and into a four-stroke lead over Adam Scott, the personable Swede breathed a sigh of relief.
So, too, did Stenson's caddie, Gareth Lord.
"He snap-hooked a couple shots on the range, and he never snap-hooks the ball," Lord said. So Stenson examined the face of his 4-wood, then he showed it to Steve Stricker, and it ...