Five wins. No majors.
Yet the number that might resonate most for Tiger Woods in 2013 is three, as in rules violations.
Two were his responsibility for not knowing the rules.
He took relief from an embedded lie in a sandy area covered with vines in Abu Dhabi -- except a free drop was not allowed in the sand. The two-shot penalty assessed after his round caused him to miss the cut.
Far more memorable was the Masters. Woods took an improper drop after his wedge into the 15th green rattled off the pin and into the water. The mistake was not discovered until after he signed his card - and after he said in an interview he purposely dropped it a few paces behind the original spot. Augusta National docked him two shots, but didn't disqualify Woods because the club knew there was a question about the drop and chose not to talk to him before he signed his card.
It was the third violation that was the most troubling. And oddly enough, Woods knew the rule.
He just didn't think he violate...