MIAMI Dont be so fast to label Miami Marlins right-hander Alex Sanabia the majors latest spitballer.
Social media was abuzz Tuesday after TV cameras caught Sanabia spitting on a baseball after giving up a home run to Philadelphias Domonic Brown in the second inning of Miamis 5-1 victory Monday night.
The video shows Sanabia spitting on and then rubbing a new ball as he walks onto the mound.
Rule 8.02(a)(2) in the Official Baseball Rules includes a phrase that says a pitcher can not expectorate on the ball, either hand or glove.
A comment beneath adds that if a pitcher violates the rule but in the judgment of the umpire did not intend to alter a pitch, the umpire can warn the pitcher instead of ejecting him from the game.
Sanabia didnt want to talk before Tuesday nights game, but neither manager thought the pitchers action was a big deal.
I guess when that happened, (umpire) Joe (West) threw that ball out, Marlins manager Mike Redmond said. I guess he must have seen it.