Originally posted on Fox Sports Wisconsin  |  Last updated 4/25/13
It took only six days, but Major League Baseball has finally determined that Brewers shortstop Jean Segura and anyone else who might want to run backward on the basepaths doesn't have the right to "steal" first base. During Milwaukee's Friday night victory against the Cubs, Segura was on second base and Ryan Braun was on first base when Segura got caught in a rundown between second and third. Braun ran to second, assuming Segura was going to be tagged out in the pickle. But Segura retreated back to second base, where Braun was standing. With the two Brewers on the same bag, Cubs shortstop Luis Valbuena tagged both Segura and Braun. Umpires determined Braun was out because Segura owned the rights to the base he previously occupied. Segura, thinking he was out, started walking toward the Milwaukee dugout on the first base side. However, Brewers first base coach Garth Iorg urged Segura to stop at first base on the way to the dugout and after much debate -- he was considered safe there. The "steal" of first base after Segura's steal of second earlier in the inning and before a failed attempt later in the inning to steal it back quickly became one of the most talked-about plays of the early baseball season. So just in case this ever comes up again, MLB on Thursday armed its umpires with an explanation of how things should have been handled. It's statement goes like this: "In accordance with the Comment to OBR 7.01, the runner from 2B was not entitled to return safely to any base preceding the base that he originally held when the play began. The Comment to OBR 7.01 states, 'If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base. "Moreover, the Comment to OBR 7.08(a) states, in part, that, 'Any runner after reaching first base who leaves the base path heading for his dugout or his position believing that there is no further play, may be declared out if the umpire judges the act of the runner to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases.' In this case, the runner from 2B should have been ruled out as he abandoned his effort once he left 2B and started towards the first base line. So next time a guy runs the bases backward, forget everything you learned last Friday about Rule 7.08(i), which was what the crew on hand used as guidance: "After he has acquired legal possession of a base, he runs the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game, the umpire shall immediately call 'Time' and declare the runner out; If a runner touches an unoccupied base and then thinks the ball was caught or is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched, he may be put out running back to that base, but if he reaches the previously occupied base safely he cannot be put out while in contact with that base." Glad we got that all worked out inside of a week.
GET THE YARDBARKER APP:
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45
MORE FROM YARDBARKER

Jerry Jones sets deadline for decision on Tony Romo’s future with Cowboys

Jason Kidd believes Isaiah Thomas is in NBA MVP race

Kyrie Irving takes blame for Cavs’ recent skid: ‘I need to demand more out of myself’

Ichiro Suzuki wants to play until age 50

Six NFL teams have not renewed their daily fantasy deals

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
GET THE DAILY NEWSLETTER:

A Chicago Bulls and Jimmer Fredette reunion makes sense

Ottawa Senators visit sick teen during road trip to Minnesota

Adrian Peterson works out with Jameis Winston, gets Dirk Koetter’s attention

Report: Martavis Bryant reinstatement ‘imminent’

Steven Stamkos close to return for the Tampa Bay Lightning

Report: CBS wants Tony Romo to replace Phil Simms

The 'So, is this the last ride for the Dead Man?' quiz

Athletes in other sports (or famous professions) who played in the NCAA Tournament

2016 MLB playoff teams that won't make it back this season

Box Score 3/29: Free hats (Caps fans only)

The 'Are you mentally prepared for 'One Shining Moment'?' quiz

NBA Referee Hotline Bling: Serge Ibaka can't connect

Can the Padres' Christian Bethancourt really succeed at pitcher and catcher?

The Raiders will forever belong to Oakland

The Rewind: George Mason's improbable run to the Final Four

Baseball movies you can stream now to hold you over until Opening Day

Best, worst and hard to stomach MLB offseason moves

Box Score 3/28: Wilt's last game

MLB News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.
the YARDBARKER app
Get it now!
Ios_download En_app_rgb_wo_45

Athletes in other sports (or famous professions) who played in the NCAA Tournament

The 'So, is this the last ride for the Dead Man?' quiz

2016 MLB playoff teams that won't make it back this season

The 'Are you mentally prepared for 'One Shining Moment'?' quiz

NBA Referee Hotline Bling: Serge Ibaka can't connect

Can the Padres' Christian Bethancourt really succeed at pitcher and catcher?

The Raiders will forever belong to Oakland

Best, worst and hard to stomach MLB offseason moves

The Rewind: George Mason's improbable run to the Final Four

Baseball movies you can stream now to hold you over until Opening Day

Today's Best Stuff
For Publishers
Company Info
Help
Follow Yardbarker