Posted October 04, 2012 on AP on Fox
APNewsNow. With AP Photos. Washington Nationals pitcher Gio Gonzalez has won the 2012 Warren Spahn Award in a tiebreaker over Tampa Bay's David Price. The award is given to the top left-handed pitcher in the major leagues using a formula based on wins, strikeouts and ERA. The Warren Spahn Board of Directors said Thursday that Gonzalez and Price tied - with Gonzalez winning the tiebreaker of most wins. Gonzalez's 21 wins were one better than Price, who won the award in 2010. The award is named for Hall of Fame pitcher Warren Spahn, who holds the big league record for most wins by a left-hander with 363. It is presented by the Bricktown Rotary Club of Oklahoma City and the Jim Thorpe Association.

50-year gap no big deal to Nats' Johnson, Harper

Washington Nationals center fielder Bryce Harper is 19 and looks and sounds the part, from his Mohawkish haircut to his tattoos and well-documented ''clown question'' `tude. His manager, Davey Johnson, is 69 and looks and sounds the part, from his graying hair and leathery skin to the near-whisper speaking voice that delivers tales of chatting with Ted Williams about...

Teddy Roosevelt wins first ever Presidents Race (Video)

Your browser does not support iframes.The Washington Nationals clinched their first ever division title on Monday, and two days later D.C. baseball fans experienced another first: Teddy Roosevelt finally won the Presidents Race at Nationals Park.The Nationals have been running a Presidents Race during the middle of the fourth inning of home games since July 2006. In the race, four...

Teddy Roosevelt wins first President's Race at Nationals Park

After losing 536 consecutive races, it appeared that the Washington Nationals presidential mascot Teddy Roosevelt was never going to win a president's race. However, Teddy's luck finally changed for the better today as he won his first ever race in the Nationals final regular season home game against the Philadelphia Phillies. Watch as he gets a little assistance from a...

Video: Nationals mascot wins first race after 500 failed atttempt

Your browser does not support iframes. The Presidents Race at Washington Nationals home games has been a long-standing tradition since the summer of 2006. The race features former U.S. presidents Teddy Roosevelt, Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, and Thomas Jefferson. There have been over 500 races since the inaugural race, and not once did Teddy Roosevelt win it before Wednesday...

Nats Finish Season With 98 Wins And Best Record In Baseball

  The Washington Nationals beat the Philadelphia Phillies on Wednesday by a 5-1 margin to end their regular season with the best record in baseball at 98-64. It’s been an incredible and improbable ride for this Nats team, but they’re now headed to the National League Division Series on Sunday. Not to mention, Teddy won the President’s Race, but we'd rather...

2012 DC-Internet Baseball Writers Association Player Achievement Awards Released

Each year, the DC-Internet Baseball Writers Association polls all the DC baseball bloggers and various online media outlets for their thoughts on awards from that Washington Nationals season. Here are the final results of the voting with my answers and some reasoning (if you can call it that) in following each category. 2012 WASHINGTON NATIONALS PLAYER ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS ...

Nats beat Phillies, secure home-field

The NL East champion Washington Nationals secured home-field advantage throughout the postseason by beating the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 Wednesday for their majors-high 98th victory, with Ryan Zimmerman homering moments after the Teddy Roosevelt mascot won the Presidents Race at Nationals Park for the first time. By winning their regular-season finale, the Nationals clinched top...

Nationals Teddy Roosevelt mascot now 1-534 in President races

The Washington Nationals have had a banner season, clinching the NL East. The years of solid drafting have paid off and they’ve broken through. Also finally breaking through is mascot Teddy Roosevelt in the racing presidents competition. Roosevelt was never allowed to win. George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and Abraham Lincoln have been allowed to win. Finally in his 535th race...

Video: Teddy finally wins Presidents Race

And so, Teddy Roosevelt finally won the Presidents Race at Nationals Park. Video above, and here. And now we can all move on... Befriend Nats Enquirer on Facebook. Follow on Twitter.

Bring on the Cardinals

Cardnials 6, Braves 3: And so, after a controversial Wild Card play-in game in which Braves fans embarrassed themselves after a travesty of an infield fly rule call in the 8th, the Nationals will travel to St. Louis to face the Cardinals in the NLDS. Bring on the defending World Champs. And according to's Jenifer Langosch on Twitter, the Cardinals were chanting "...

Braves bench C Brian McCann for wild-card game

Plagued by injuries, Brian McCann endured the worst season of his career. He'll watch the Braves' wild-card playoff game from the bench. Atlanta manager Fredi Gonzalez announced that David Ross - not McCann - will start Friday against the St. Louis Cardinals. But Gonzalez stressed that it's not a permanent move if the Braves advance past the one-game playoff. '...
Nationals News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.