Posted October 03, 2012 on AP on Fox
Teddy wins! Teddy wins! For the first time, the Teddy Roosevelt mascot has won the Presidents Race in the middle of the fourth inning at Nationals Park - a pursuit that drew attention even from a White House spokesman and Sen. John McCain. Teddy - Mr. Rough Rider, himself - had lost more than 500 times since 2006, when the Washington Nationals baseball team began having races among 10-foot-tall foam renderings of Roosevelt, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson and Abe Lincoln at home games. The crowd cheered wildly Wednesday when Teddy triumphed in the last game of the 2012 regular season, helped when a green mascot wearing a jersey of the Philadelphia Phillies - Washington's opponent - knocked down the other three mascots. The Nationals have already clinched the NL East.

Bryce Harper celebrated division title with apple cider, beer-spraying (photos)

As you may recall, Bryce Harper’s signature catchphrase, “That’s a clown question, bro,” might never have caught on and taken over the interwebs if it hadn’t been for a reporter in Toronto inquiring about whether the 19-year-old Harper had any intention of taking advantage of Canada’s younger legal drinking age earlier this season, so it [...]

Adam LaRoche takes a curtain call...

Via @Nationals: LaRoche, on whether or not he'd celebrate his 100th RBI: "I don't know, I'm still recovering from last night." Back in spring training if you'd told us we'd be posting an "Adam LaRoche takes a curtain call" thing about Adam LaRoche taking a curtain call after blasting his 33rd home run (100th RBI) on October 3 the night after...

Teddy Roosevelt wins first ever Presidents Race (Video)

Your browser does not support iframes.The Washington Nationals clinched their first ever division title on Monday, and two days later D.C. baseball fans experienced another first: Teddy Roosevelt finally won the Presidents Race at Nationals Park.The Nationals have been running a Presidents Race during the middle of the fourth inning of home games since July 2006. In the race, four...

Teddy Roosevelt wins first President's Race at Nationals Park

After losing 536 consecutive races, it appeared that the Washington Nationals presidential mascot Teddy Roosevelt was never going to win a president's race. However, Teddy's luck finally changed for the better today as he won his first ever race in the Nationals final regular season home game against the Philadelphia Phillies. Watch as he gets a little assistance from a...

Video: Nationals mascot wins first race after 500 failed atttempt

Your browser does not support iframes. The Presidents Race at Washington Nationals home games has been a long-standing tradition since the summer of 2006. The race features former U.S. presidents Teddy Roosevelt, Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, and Thomas Jefferson. There have been over 500 races since the inaugural race, and not once did Teddy Roosevelt win it before Wednesday...

Nats Finish Season With 98 Wins And Best Record In Baseball

  The Washington Nationals beat the Philadelphia Phillies on Wednesday by a 5-1 margin to end their regular season with the best record in baseball at 98-64. It’s been an incredible and improbable ride for this Nats team, but they’re now headed to the National League Division Series on Sunday. Not to mention, Teddy won the President’s Race, but we'd rather...

2012 DC-Internet Baseball Writers Association Player Achievement Awards Released

Each year, the DC-Internet Baseball Writers Association polls all the DC baseball bloggers and various online media outlets for their thoughts on awards from that Washington Nationals season. Here are the final results of the voting with my answers and some reasoning (if you can call it that) in following each category. 2012 WASHINGTON NATIONALS PLAYER ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS ...

Nats beat Phillies, secure home-field

The NL East champion Washington Nationals secured home-field advantage throughout the postseason by beating the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 Wednesday for their majors-high 98th victory, with Ryan Zimmerman homering moments after the Teddy Roosevelt mascot won the Presidents Race at Nationals Park for the first time. By winning their regular-season finale, the Nationals clinched top...

Sticking Up for the Nationals

This was likely the wrong way to go about it, as the average fan struggles to see past the colors of its own team. That’s completely understandable. You pay good money to support your team – in this case, the Philadelphia Phillies – so you do not want to give props where props are due.And you’re probably looking at that title and wondering why I’d write nice things about...

Nationals 4, Phillies 2

WASHINGTON -- Adam LaRoche started the sixth inning with a tie-breaking homer, and the Washington Nationals went on to a 4-2 victory over the Philadelphia Phillies Tuesday night. The Nationals (97-64) moved one step closer to locking up the top spot in the National League playoffs and home-field advantage all the way through. The magic number for that is one, pending the outcome...

Nationals Teddy Roosevelt mascot now 1-534 in President races

The Washington Nationals have had a banner season, clinching the NL East. The years of solid drafting have paid off and they’ve broken through. Also finally breaking through is mascot Teddy Roosevelt in the racing presidents competition. Roosevelt was never allowed to win. George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and Abraham Lincoln have been allowed to win. Finally in his 535th race...

Video: Teddy finally wins Presidents Race

And so, Teddy Roosevelt finally won the Presidents Race at Nationals Park. Video above, and here. And now we can all move on... Befriend Nats Enquirer on Facebook. Follow on Twitter.
MLB News
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.