Originally written on Start 'N' Park Blog  |  Last updated 9/14/14

CONCORD, NC - JANUARY 20: Dale Earnhardt Jr., driver of the #88 AMP Energy/National Guard Chevrolet looks on during the NASCAR Sprint Media Tour hosted by Charlotte Motor Speedway, held at Hendrick Motorsports, on January 20, 2010 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Jason Smith/Getty Images)
POINTS AFTER NEW HAMPSHIRE: Dale Earnhardt Jr. holds the fifth position in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship standings. He trails leader and teammate Jimmie Johnson by 118 points with seven races remaining until the 12-car field is set for the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. AT THE BRICKYARD: In 13 Sprint Cup starts at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Earnhardt has recorded three top-10 finishes and led 61 laps. In five of those races, Earnhardt lined up sixth or better for the historic event. He scored his best finish — fourth-place — at the 2.5-mile oval last season. LEADING LAPS: According to NASCAR’s loop data statistics, Earnhardt ranks eighth among all drivers in the laps led category during the past eight Indianapolis races. The 38-year-old driver has led 48 of the 1,280 laps run during that timeframe. SPEEDWAY SUCCESS: Earnhardt has scored nine of his 19 career Sprint Cup wins on tracks that are two miles or longer. He has earned five at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway, two at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway and two at Michigan International Speedway. He also has tallied four pole positions, 37 top-five finishes, 58 top-10s and 1,700 laps led at tracks that are two miles or longer. GOOD COMPANY: Earnhardt’s nine wins at ovals that are two miles or greater rank him fourth overall among active, full-time drivers. Jeff Gordon ranks first with 31 wins, Tony Stewart is second with 18 wins while Johnson is third with 17 victories. INDIANAPOLIS CHASSIS: Crew chief Steve Letarte and the No. 88 team will unload Hendrick Motorsports Chassis No. 88-810 this weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. This is a new chassis. HENDRICK AT INDY: Most recently, Johnson went to Victory Lane at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in July 2012, recording his fourth career win at the famed 2.5-mile speedway and the eighth for Hendrick Motorsports. Johnson and Gordon rank tied for first among NASCAR competition with four career victories there. The Hendrick Motorsports duo has combined to win eight of the 19 Cup events that have been held at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. In addition to those eight victories, Hendrick Motorsports has 21 top-five finishes and 31 top-10s in 19 races (65 starts) there. ALL-TIME: Johnson and Gordon, with four Brickyard wins apiece, rank tied for second with four-time Indy 500 victors A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser. The five drivers trail Formula-1’s Michael Schumacher, a five-time winner at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, on the all-time major motor sports list at the historic track. CHEVY STREAK: Chevrolet has won 14 of the 19 Sprint Cup events held at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, including the last 10 straight. In addition, a Chevy has started from the Brickyard 400 pole position eight times. DALE EARNHARDT JR., DRIVER, NO. 88 NATIONAL GUARD CHEVROLET SS (ON INDIANAPOLIS MOTOR SPEEDWAY.): “I like coming to Indy and like the history of the racetrack. The history there is incredible. It’s been able to survive a lot of things, and here we are racing on it today. It is just incredible. It is a challenging place. It is one groove and you kind of fight getting aero-tight behind people. You know when you show up for practice what you of need out of your car. We will work hard this weekend and see where we end up.” -Hendrick Motorsports PR

JJ Watt's bloody face defines 2014 campaign

Dominic Raiola insists he didn't intentionally stomp opponent

Jets call themselves the best 3-12 team in NFL history

Cam Newton calls out 'classless' Panthers fans

Report: 49ers to part ways with Harbaugh after season finale

Brad Stevens shoots down rumors he's headed to Hoosiers


Jameis Winston cleared in code of conduct case

Sherman: Patrick Peterson would be benched on Seahawks

Fans struck by lightning after Buccaneers-Packers game

Report: Philip Rivers playing through painful back injury

Report: Bears could have interest in Jim Harbaugh

Report: Shanahan interested in coaching next season

Miami Dolphins electing to keep Joe Philbin a smart decision

Coughlin tells Beckham Jr to tone down TD celebrations

WATCH: Lynch ‘thanks the media for asking’ questions

10 takeaways from NFL Week 16

Tony Romo leads Dallas Cowboys to NFC East title

Ole Miss QB arrested after fighting, threatening bouncers

WATCH: Marshawn Lynch's ridiculous TD run

WATCH: Steelers' Gay draws flag for taunting teammate

WATCH: Three players ejected after Giants-Rams fight

WATCH: Dominic Raiola stomps on Bears player's ankle

WATCH: Arian Foster throws TD pass, drops scoreboard taunt

WATCH: Johnny Manziel leaves with injury after taking big hit

Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

JJ Watt's bloody face defines 2014 campaign

Jets claim to be best 3-12 team ever

10 takeaways from NFL Week 16

Cam Newton calls out 'classless' Panthers fans

Raiola stomps on Bears player's ankle

Bears interested in Jim Harbaugh?

Shanahan to return to 2015?

Browns interested in drafting Mariota?

Mullen wears funny Christmas sweater

RG3 returning to Redskins?

Tom Izzo hot after bad loss

Kings, Nets talking Deron Williams trade

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.