Found July 26, 2012 on
PLAYERS: Jeff Gordon
Jeff Gordon driver of the No.24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet for Hendrick Motor Sports has raced in 670 races, accumulated 402 top tens, 289 top fives, and won 85 times. Gordon has won the Daytona 500 three times and the Sprint Cup Series championship four times in his 18 year career in Cup racing. These records put Jeff Gordon third on the wins list only behind legends David Pearson and Richard Petty. Gordon hasn’t won a championship since 2001. The closest he has finished was 2nd behind team mate Jimmie Johnson in 2007. He won just one race from 2008-2010. Last year he broke though with three victories and many fans of Gordon were hopeful of another championship run. Gordon stumbled once the chase started and finished 8th overall. Gordon has missed the chase just once since it’s inception, 2005. Failing to make the Chase that season forced Gordon to his lowest finish in the overall standings (11th) since his rookie season. (14th) This season Gordon is again in danger of missi...

5th Brickyard 400 Win Could Cause Conflict in Gordon Clan

  Surprisingly, Jeff Gordon wants "Super Weekend" to end with a family argument. The four-time Brickyard 400 winner grew up in the shadows of historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) in nearby Pittsboro, so each trip to the famed speedway is special to Gordon. But if he collects trophy No. 5 on Sunday, it could set off fireworks in the Gordon household. "I want...

Fantasy NASCAR: Brickyard 400 Edition

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series returns to action this weekend at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the 19th annual Brickyard 400. The race is one of the most prestigious races on the circuit. To win at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is one of the biggest accomplishments in any driver's career. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is also one of the toughest tracks to drive. That...

Crown Royal 400 Preview

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series makes its way to the Indianapolis for the 19th annual running of the Crown Royal 400. Start ‘N’ Park Blog is here to provide you with the inside track for the race by taking a look at historical statistics, driver’s past performance, breaking down the points, and providing random thoughts on the event and venue. Indianapolis Stat Line: 18 races...

NASCAR: Brickyard 400 Sprint Cup Story Lines

  Indianapolis Winners the Thoroughbreds of NASCARJudging the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s degree of difficulty requires only a reading of past winners of the Crown Royal Presents The Curtiss Shaver 400 at the Brickyard. Fourteen of 18 races were won by past or future NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions. Fitting, perhaps, that drivers with a combined 11 championships – Jeff...

Team Chevy Crown Royal 400 Race Preview

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series makes its way to the world famous Indianapolis Motor Speedway for Sunday’s Crown Royal 400. Team Chevy drivers have won 13 of the previous 18 races at the track, including the inaugural race in 1994 (won by Jeff Gordon) and last year’s race (won by Paul Menard). Below are the thoughts of some of Team Chevy’s drivers as they head to the famed yard...
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.