Found February 17, 2013 on Start 'N' Park Blog:
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — It’s been a rough Daytona Speedweeks start for Kurt Busch.  The Furniture Row Racing driver, who got collected in a practice accident Friday, didn’t fare any better Saturday night in the Sprint Unlimited race. After starting in the rear of the field in the scheduled 75-lap event, Busch quickly powered his Furniture Row Chevrolet SS to the front of the pack, running as high as fourth. But on Lap 15 he once again got collected in a multicar accident that forced the former NASCAR champion to take an early exit from the 19-car, non-points race at Daytona International Speedway. He was credited with a 13th-place finish. “Two days, two wrecked cars and only a few laps completed,” said Busch. “It’s been a disappointing start to say the least. But the good news is that we’ve had fast cars. If our luck can change we’ll be competitive for the big show in next week’s Daytona 500 (Sunday, Feb. 24).” Busch’s No. 78 Chevy took a severe hit in the under-the-lights Sprint Unlimited as the field was entering Turn 3 at the 2.5-mile oval. Though Busch was able to drive his crippled car to pit road, he had no choice but to park it due to no brakes and heavy right-front damage. The accident also resulted in five other drivers — Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin, Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin — getting knocked out of the race. “Of course I’m disappointed, but I also feel bad for the entire Furniture Row team for all the hard work they put into this superspeedway program and delivering fast cars,” stated Busch, who won the Sprint Unlimited in 2011. “We’re going to keep our chins up and continue to keep focused in our preparations for the Daytona 500.” Drivers will return to the famed speedway Sunday afternoon to take part in Pole Day, which locks in the front row for the Daytona 500 and sets the lineup for Thursday’s 150-mile qualifying races. The Sprint Unlimited race winner was Kevin Harvick. Rounding out the top-five in order were: Greg Biffle, Joey Logano, Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth. The Sprint Unlimited was for 2012 pole winners and past champions of the event. -Furniture Row Racing PR

Kurt Busch Sprint Unlimited Race Preview

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – A strengthening foundation with a swelling enthusiasm is how the Furniture Row Racing team will kick off the 2013 Sprint Cup Series season this weekend at Daytona International Speedway. “While the guys have worked hard and remained focused during the offseason, there was without a question a special kind of buzz that engulfed our race shop the past three...

2013 Sprint Cup Series Season Preview – #78 Kurt Busch

The NASCAR season is back upon us and it is time to get you caught up with everything that happened in the offseason. Start ‘N’ Park Blog will be going through their list of drivers running the full schedule in 2013 and telling you what you can expect from those drivers in the new year. Today’s entry is the driver of the #78 Furniture Row Chevrolet, Kurt Busch. Driver: Kurt...

CUP: Saturday Daytona Notebook

Kyle Busch is the defending winner of the Sprint Unlimited…

Video: Sprint Unlimited Wreck in segment one claims six cars

A wreck in the first segment of the Sprint Unlimited ruined the night of six drivers. Tony Stewart attempted to cut down in front of Marcos Ambrose but was unable to, resulting in a pileup in the back of the pack. Kyle Busch hit teammate Denny Hamlin’s rear and suddenly Jeff Gordon, Kurt Busch, Jimmie Johnson and Mark Martin were all collected in a wreck. To Sponsor Coulter At Daytona

ESVILLE, N.C.- Kyle Busch Motorsports (KBM) announced today that – which will celebrate its 10th season as a NASCAR team sponsor in 2013 – will adorn Joey Coulter’s No. 18 Tundra in the season-opening NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway Feb. 22., the world’s largest online auction of firearms, parts and accessories...

NASCAR: 5 Drivers who didn’t make Chase in 2012 that can make Chase this season

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is coming off two miraculous seasons in 2011 and 2012. Tony Stewart and Carl Edwards literally tied for the title in ‘11 with Stewart winning the tiebreaker based on wins. In ‘12 Brad Keselowski won his first Cup title in an epic battle with five-time champion Jimmie Johnson. The battle to get in the Chase the last few years has been fun and exciting...

Day 1 At Daytona= Wreck One

((HT: NASCAR on Speed)) What the HQ used to call the Clash is now something called the Unlimited... We don't know if the ground rules are the same or not, but they're practicing at Daytona for the 500 mile race next Sunday. Which, of course, means that big drivers may end up damaging their new paint schemes... Matt Kenseth would be the guilty one there... Here...
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.