Originally written on Start 'N' Park Blog  |  Last updated 10/13/14

HOMESTEAD, FL - NOVEMBER 21: Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 Z-Line Designs Toyota, celebrates from his car as a crew member brings the championship flag after winning the NASCAR Nationwide Series Championship and the Ford 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 21, 2009 in Homestead, Florida. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Photo- Getty Images Kyle Busch brought home the victory in the second Budweiser Duel Thursday afternoon at Daytona after holding the lead for most of the second half of the race. Busch made it to the lead after the round of green-flag pit-stops concluded and he held the lead until the checkered flag flew. The race didn’t feature any cautions and it had very little action but, the No.18 team was happy with the outcome. Jeff Gordon started the race on the pole but, it wasn’t soon before Ryan Newman passed him on lap one. Gordon would pass Newman again for the lead not too long after Newman had passed him. With 21 laps to go, the only round of green-flag pit-stops began and speeding penalties were distributed following the stops. Coming into the stops, Jeff Gordon led but, he received a too fast entering penalty and had to give up his lead. Terry Labonte and Ricky Stenhouse Jr also had speeding penalties and had to serve a pass through penalty. With 20 laps to go, Ryan Newman spun his car while attempting to pit and Newman hit the outside wall with the back of his car. No yellow-flag flew and the race stayed under green-flag conditions. The race came down to the final few laps and Matt Kenseth was behind his JGR teammate Kyle Busch until Kenseth was freight trained on the final lap. Kasey Kahne made a move on the backstretch for the lead but, Kyle Busch blocked him and Busch was able to hold the rest of the field off and win the second Budweiser Duel. Busch showed he had a strong car today and that’s why he ended up in victory lane. Busch said in victory lane that it is “Hard to pass the leader” which shows why we haven’t seen the last lap passes were accustomed to seeing at Daytona. The common aspect among both of the Duels today is that the winner of each came to the lead in the second half of the race. While Busch celebrated in victory lane, Brian Keselowski and Mike Bliss were not celebrating since they were the two drivers who did not make the Daytona 500. The field is now set for one of the most anticipated Daytona 500’s ever and race day is only two days away. Results via Nascar.com 1. (4) Kyle Busch, Toyota, 60, $58977. 2. (3) Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 60, $43963. 3. (8) Austin Dillon(i), Chevrolet, 60, $38963. 4. (9) Clint Bowyer, Toyota, 60, $33963. 5. (5) Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 60, $31963. 6. (14) Mark Martin, Toyota, 60, $29563. 7. (7) Paul Menard, Chevrolet, 60, $28463. 8. (10) Jeff Burton, Chevrolet, 60, $27463. 9. (11) Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 60, $27438. 10. (15) David Ragan, Ford, 60, $27413. 11. (12) Marcos Ambrose, Ford, 60, $27388. 12. (1) Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 60, $27363. 13. (13) Aric Almirola, Ford, 60, $27338. 14. (6) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 59, $27313. 15. (19) Dave Blaney, Chevrolet, 59, $27288. 16. (16) Josh Wise, Ford, 59, $27263. 17. (21) Travis Kvapil, Toyota, 59, $27238. 18. (18) Terry Labonte, Ford, 59, $27188. 19. (17) Michael McDowell, Ford, 59, $27163. 20. (20) JJ Yeley, Chevrolet, 59, $27138. 21. (2) Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 58, $27088. 22. (22) Mike Bliss, Chevrolet, 55, $27063.

Porn star gets into funny Twitter exchange with Eagles player

Report: Muschamp is Auburn's next defensive coordinator

NFLPA responds to denial of Adrian Peterson’s appeal

Teammate: Johnny Manziel a ‘nightmare’ to practice against

Adrian Peterson appeal denied

Raiders had to study game tape to learn celebrating techniques


The NBA is considering shortening the preseason

More key evidence thrown out in Aaron Hernandez trial

Reports: Bruins 'front runners' to host 2016 NHL Winter Classic

Carmelo: Waiving no-trade clause would make me weak

Report: Patriots doctor altered report to recoup player's bonus

Josh Gordon maintains effort no matter the quarterback

Yoenis Cespedes’ value lies solely in his name

Report: 2016 Winter Classic will be held in Boston

Four transactions that slipped through the cracks

Why the NFC South winner will really be a loser

Buckingham Palace absolves LeBron of breaching ‘royal protocol’

Sugar Bowl ticket prices up 213% since OSU’s last appearance

Winners and losers of 2014 MLB Winter Meetings

The Knicks show why not rebuilding is even more painful

Tim Tebow to make broadcast booth debut at Peach Bowl

Bruce Arians had an awesome postgame conference

Urban Meyer's wife has hair catch on fire blowing out candles

Game of the week: 49ers vs. Seahawks

Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

Adrian Peterson appeal denied

Winners and losers of the Winter Meetings

Key evidence tossed in Hernandez trial

Porn star, Eagles player have funny Twitter exchange

Game of the week: 49ers vs. Seahawks

Olivia Munn talks sex life, Rodgers

Sharper indicted on rape charges

Man steals $1.5M in LeBron sneakers?

10 MLB Winter Meetings takeaways

The best sports media feuds of 2014

Jeter advises on how to avoid bad press

Video surfaces of Kobe's practice tirade

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.