Game 5 between the Phoenix Coyotes and the Los Angeles Kings was exciting and controversial. We're not here to talk about Dustin Brown's knee and whether or not it clean or dirty. Instead, we're here to analyze an incident involving Brown and Phoenix goaltender Mike Smith. As Smith was reaching to cover a puck with his glove, Brown used his stick to pry the puck loose, dislodging Smith's glove and leaving him barehanded. Play continued with LA threatening outside Smith's crease, leaving the goaltender exposed without his catching glove.
Should play have been blown dead? What do the official NHL rules have to say about such an incident and do we need to change the rules moving forward?
According to the NHL Rules page on the NHL's official site, the play was supposed to continue until a normal stoppage in play, which is exactly what happened. Nothing in the rules says anything about a goaltender losing his catching glove, b...