Russia and USA were deadlocked at 2-2 late in the third period when Fedor Tyutin had a beautiful shot that found its way past Jonathan Quick. Initially it looked like Alexander Radulov tipped the puck with a high stick, but after review, it was determined the goal wasn’t good but for a different reason. The net was off it’s moorings and by rule, the goal cannot count.
IIHF Rule on no-goal: “If net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice.”
— Greg Wyshynski (@wyshynski) February 15, 2014
It was a big break for the US to say the least.
For those asking, disallowed RUS goal likely good goal in NHL. Determination would have been if puck would have gone in net regardless.
— Bob McKenzie (@TSNBobMcKenzie) February 15, 2014
The post Russia late third period goal disallowed, net off moorings appeared first on Diehardsport.