David Nalbandian was defaulted in the Queen’s Club final on Sunday, when he injured a line judge after kicking a small barrier surrounding the judge. A piece of the barrier hit the line judge in the shin and caused bleeding. Marin Cilic was awarded the match and the title on Sunday despite trailing the Argentine 6-7, 4-3.
Nalbandian said that he should not have been disqualified. “Sometimes you get very frustrated on court and it’s tough to control that, and sometimes I do a mistake. So it’s very tough to end a final like that. But sometimes we feel so much pressure from the ATP to play a lot of tournaments. They don’t do anything (for) us, and today I do a mistake and I have to pay like that.
“I agree I do a mistake but sometimes everybody do a mistake and I didn’t feel it had to end like that, especially in a final.”
“It’s an unfortunate situation for everyone involved, the spectators, the tournament, the sponsors, the players and the linesman,” said ATP executive chai...