Lawrence spoke up to clear the air about his fundraising efforts. Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The NCAA received negative attention on Tuesday after a charity fundraiser page started by Trevor Lawrence and his girlfriend was shut down. But the Clemson quarterback now is saying the NCAA was not the reason for the shutdown.

In a message on his Instagram story, Lawrence said that Clemson’s compliance department shut down the page as a precaution to stay within NCAA rules that prevent a player from using their name, image or likeness for fund raising.

Lawrence said the NCAA granted him and Marissa Mowry permission to relaunch the fundraiser.

Lawrence said they would take some time to think about how to start back up. Their original aim was to provide relief and support for families impacted by COVID-19, with money going to Meals on Wheels and No Kid Hungry.

Lawrence won the national championship at Clemson last year and his Tigers lost in the championship game to LSU this year. He was in his sophomore year before schools shut down to the coronavirus. Lawrence has passed for 66 touchdowns and just 12 interceptions during his college career.

This article first appeared on Larry Brown Sports and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

Can you name every college football championship coach since 1989?

An asterisk (*) indicates title was later vacated.

2019 / LSU
Ed Orgeron
2018 / Clemson
Dabo Swinney
2017 / Alabama
Nick Saban
2016 / Clemson
Dabo Swinney
2015 / Alabama
Nick Saban
2014 / Ohio State
Urban Meyer
2013 / FSU
Jimbo Fisher
2012 / Alabama
Nick Saban
2011 / Alabama
Nick Saban
2010 / Auburn
Gene Chizik
2009 / Alabama
Nick Saban
2008 / Florida
Urban Meyer
2007 / LSU
Les Miles
2006 / Florida
Urban Meyer
2005 / Texas
Mack Brown
2004 / USC*
Pete Carroll
2003 / USC
Pete Carroll
2003 / LSU
Nick Saban
2002 / Ohio State
Jim Tressel
2001 / Miami
Larry Coker
2000 / Oklahoma
Bob Stoops
1999 / FSU
Bobby Bowden
1998 / Tennessee
Phillip Fulmer
1997 / Michigan
Lloyd Carr
1997 / Nebraska
Tom Osborne
1996 / Florida
Steve Spurrier
1995 / Nebraska
Tom Osborne
1994 / Nebraska
Tom Osborne
1993 / FSU
Bobby Bowden
1992 / Alabama
Gene Stallings
1991 / Miami
Dennis Erickson
1991 / Washington
Don James
1990 / Colorado
Bill McCartney
1990 / Georgia Tech
Bobby Ross
1989 / Miami
Dennis Erickson

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!