The former owner of the San Francisco 49ers who committed the illegal act of bribing a political official was given a bailout. Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

The most successful owner in Bay Area sports history is now receiving a reprieve from the man in the highest office in the United States. Former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo Jr. has received a pardon from Donald Trump, according to Josh Wingrove of Bloomberg News.

While it’s not specified what the pardon entails, common logic seems to suggest that it has to do with a bribery case involving former Louisiana Governor Edwin Edwards back in 1998. DeBartolo Jr. pleaded guilty to a charge of failing to report a felony and received a $1 million fine and two years of probation.

It ultimately led to DeBartolo Jr. ceding control of the 49ers to his sister, Denise York, back in 2000. York’s son, Jed, has since been called on to run the team.

Under the leadership of Eddie D, as he’s known, the 49ers earned five Super Bowl titles. They have yet to win another since he gave up control of the team.

This article first appeared on Sportsnaut and was syndicated with permission.


The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

Can you name the top 25 receivers in San Francisco 49ers history?
19,247 1985-2000
Jerry Rice
8,572 1996-2003
Terrell Owens
6,750 1979-1987
Dwight Clark
6,664 1969-1977
Gene Washington
5,902 1951-1960
Billy Wilson
5,640 2006-2015
Vernon Davis
5,598 1987-1995
John Taylor
5,195 1987-1997
Brent Jones
4,873 1978-1985
Freddie Solomon
4,442 1983-1990
Roger Craig
4,327 2009-2014
Michael Crabtree
4,139 1995-2002
J.J. Stokes
4,008 1961-1966
Bernie Casey
3,487 1950-1958
Gordie Soltau
3,334 1964-1967
Dave Parks
3,030 2013-2015
Anquan Boldin
2,993 1960-1967
Monty Stickles
2,951 1946-1951
Alyn Beals
2,945 2017-2019
George Kittle
2,926 1957-1961
R.C. Owens
2,883 2005-2014
Frank Gore
2,666 1952-1960
Hugh McElhenny
2,643 1956-1963
Clyde Conner
2,555 1969-1974
Ted Kwalick
2,490 1986-1993
Tom Rathman

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!