A.J. Green is one among five franchise-tagged players who have yet to sign their one-year tenders for their teams. Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

Teams have until July 15th to hammer out long-term deals with franchise tagged players. As of this writing, there are five players who have not signed their one-year tenders: Bengals wide receiver A.J. Green, Broncos safety Justin Simmons, Buccaneers edge rusher Shaquil Barrett, Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones, and Jaguars defensive end Yannick Ngakoue.

The franchise tag is a sore spot for players, because it prohibits them from realizing their true value on the open market. Sometimes, players begrudgingly sign on the dotted line after skipping out on a portion of offseason activities. There have also been some notable holdouts to extend into the regular season – Le’Veon Bell, for example.

You can put Green in the former camp. The Bengals superstar wants long-term security from the only team he’s ever known, but he says he’ll sign the one-year tender if they can’t come to terms.

In the past, Simmons has indicated that he won’t skip Broncos activities, but Mike Klis of 9Newsspeculates that agent Todd France could talk him into playing some hardball. Offers have been exchanged between the two sides, but, for now, the safety is looking at a one-year, $12.7M proposition.

Jones – currently in line for a $16.1M deal – has expressed frustration with the slow pace of negotiations with the Chiefs. The Chiefs, meanwhile, already have a $20M defensive lineman in Frank Clark. Barrett, who said he’d be a good sport about signing the tender, says he’s expecting to have some movement by tomorrow, though it’s not clear if that means receiving an extension offer or putting pen to paper.

Ngakoue, of course, is prepared to go to war with the Jaguars. The two sides have been locked in a heated stalemate for a long time and the Jags say they won’t cave to the defensive end’s trade demand.

This article first appeared on Pro Football Rumors and was syndicated with permission.

The Morning Bark Newsletter. Emailed daily.

You'll receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams.

Emailed daily. Always FREE!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Can you name the last player to reach 1,300 or more receiving yards in a season for every NFL franchise?

The Baltimore Ravens and Seattle Seahawks have never had a player reach 1,300 receiving yards in a season. In 2018, the Kansas City Chiefs had two players eclipse the 1,300 yard mark. An asterisk (*) indicates the team was in another city and/or went by a different name during this season. 

ARI / 1,431 / 2008
Larry Fitzgerald
ATL / 1,394 / 2019
Julio Jones
BUF / 1,326 / 2000
Eric Moulds
CAR / 1,394 / 2011
Steve Smith
CHI / 1,421 / 2013
Alshon Jeffery
CIN / 1,426 / 2014
A.J. Green
CLE / 1,646 / 2013
Josh Gordon
DAL / 1,320 / 2014
Dez Bryant
DEN / 1,304 / 2015
Demaryius Thomas
DET / 1,331 / 2014
Golden Tate
GB / 1,386 / 2018
Davante Adams
HOU / 1,572 / 2018
DeAndre Hopkins
IND / 1,448 / 2016
T.Y. Hilton
JAX / 1,400 / 2015
Allen Robinson
KC / 1,479 / 2018
Tyreek Hill
KC / 1,336 / 2018
Travis Kelce
LAC / 1,393 / 2017
Keenan Allen
LAR* / 1,331 / 2005
Torry Holt
MIA / 1,313 / 1986
Mark Duper
MIN / 1,373 / 2018
Adam Thielen
NE / 1,354 / 2012
Wes Welker
NO / 1,725 / 2019
Michael Thomas
NYG / 1,367 / 2016
Odell Beckham Jr.
NYJ / 1,502 / 2015
Brandon Marshall
OAK / 1,344 / 1999
Tim Brown
PHI / 1,318 / 2014
Jeremy Maclin
PIT / 1,426 / 2018
Juju Smith-Schuster
SF / 1,377 / 2018
George Kittle
TB / 1,333 / 2019
Chris Godwin
TEN / 1,303 / 2003
Derrick Mason
WAS / 1,346 / 2013
Pierre Garcon

Customize Your Newsletter


Get the latest news and rumors, customized to your favorite sports and teams. Emailed daily. Always free!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.